My Favorite Enchilada Recipe

I am so excited to share a recipe with you all! This one is all mine, too 🙂

My husband and I LOVE enchiladas, it’s an easy make-ahead meal and it’s relatively cheap, and can please a lot of people. My husband found a great recipe a while back but there were a few things I didn’t like: it included sour cream and cheese in the filling, each tortilla was cooked in oil before it was wrapped, and there was a LOT of cheese on top. Delicious, yes. But maybe not the healthiest option, especially when you make it once a week like we do.

My first change was the oil, but that made it harder to roll the corn tortillas. Solution: layer like a lasagna! Same taste but a lot less work and calories, and I think you end up using fewer tortillas in the long run.

My other edits included the filling and the toppings. I have quite a few variations, today I am going to share my recent favorite. As for the topping, you can use far less low-fat cheese instead of the full fat version, and still enjoy that ooey gooey cheesy toppings.

Enchilada Verde Recipe:
15 or so corn tortillas 
28 oz. can green enchilada sauce 
2 cans black beans (drained, rinsed) 
2 cans corn (drained, rinsed) or 2 cups frozen corn (thawed) 
1 small can diced green chilies 
1 shallot or green onions (or any other onion you have in the house)
1 cup shredded low fat cheese (mozzarella or a mexican blend works well)

2 T ground cumin
1 T garlic powder 
Optional spices: cayenne pepper, ground pepper, salt 

Preheat your oven to 350° F. Lightly spray a 9 by 13 inch baking dish, taking care to get the sides. Rinse beans and corn in a colander, place in large bowl. Add diced chilies, shallot, spices, and 1/2 cup of the enchilada sauce. Toss to combine.

Put just enough enchilada sauce to cover the bottom of the baking dish. Place a layer of tortillas on top of the sauce; I use about five per layer, I break up the last one for a better fit.

Spread half of the filling mixture on top of the tortilla layer (the picture doesn’t show this, but you need to spread the filling over the entire baking dish).

Repeat with another layer of tortillas and the rest of the filling. Add one more layer of tortillas to top off the filling. Pour the remaining sauce over everything (be sure to not pour it all on one spot).

Shake the baking dish lightly to distribute the sauce. Sprinkle with cheese. Cover with foil and bake for 30 minutes. Remove foil and bake for another 15 minutes. Remove from oven and let sit for a few minutes (this is the hardest part!).

Serve with your favorite topping. Below I used reduced fat sour cream and a sprinkle of ground cumin. Other topping ideas: avocado (my favorite), salsa, shredded cheese, hot sauce, or a combo of all of the above!

I hope that you try this recipe! It’s one of the staples in our household. I will be sure to update you on yummy variations.

Do you have a favorite go-to recipe? I love that this one is relatively inexpensive to make and makes a lot, plenty of leftovers for me and the hubby! 

9 thoughts on “My Favorite Enchilada Recipe

  1. Pingback: Grocery Shopping | reads recipes runs

    • Oh yeah! You could also try the low carb, whole grain flour versions, I love La Tortilla Factory ones, they have some whole grain ones that are only 80 calories per tortilla. I’m sure that they would turn out very yummy!

  2. Pingback: Elizabeth's Tortilla-Like Soup | Budget Gourmet Mom

  3. Pingback: WIAW | reads recipes runs

Leave a comment