Grocery Shopping

Happy friday lovelies! I hope you are having a great day.

Since I moved to Utah, I haven’t worked that often on Fridays, so I’ve created a fairly awesome Friday routine: sleep in, grocery shop, workout, clean up around the house, and get some blogging admin work done.

I know that for me, grocery shopping becomes quite a to-do. I love making healthy foods and saving money by utilizing ingredients as often as possible (remember my post about that earlier in the week?), so making a grocery list is a must.

This week I thought I would share my method! OK, maybe it’s madness, but it works for us!

First, I pick out a few recipes I want to try, and write down a few dinner ideas for the week, usually four. Why only four? The other days I like to improvise a little. I used to plan every single meal, but that just added a bunch of stress that I just didn’t need. I think I have found a good balance between meal planning, and stocking my kitchen with healthy staples.

Recipes for this week:

  • Angela’s High Protein and Oil-Free Pesto (I am going to double this to use in a pasta dish as well as for lunches)
  • Angela’s 15 Minute Creamy Avocado Pasta (ONLY if they avocados are good, I’ve come to the realization that California totally spoiled me when it comes to avocados, and I’ve been highly disappointed by the avocado selection in Utah. Lately if I get them suuuuper unripe and keep an eye on them, they are OK.) 
  • My enchiladas 
  • Chili (recipe to come this week)

(Take note that some of these recipes make great leftovers, great for lunches, which is a big concern now that my husband is headed back to work.)

Then, I make a list of ingredients I will need for the recipes. This week I need (this excludes things I already have on hand):
3 cans white beans
lemons
fresh basil (about 2 cups)
2 avocados
gluten free pasta
corn tortillas
1 can black beans
2 cans corn, or frozen corn
shredded part-skim mozzarella
diced green chilies
green enchilada sauce
plain greek yogurt
onion (1 each, red and yellow)
various peppers
chicken or turkey (maybe ground depending on the price)

Then, I go through my list weekly staples and make a list of things that need to be restocked. This week I need:
eggs (and egg whites)
gluten free bread (or bread maker mix, whichever is more wallet-friendly)
sandwich fixins (the Husband likes sliced meats and cheese, I like hummus—or the pesto I’m makingand veggies)
frozen and fresh vegetables and fruit (I get a combo of staples like cucumbers, tomatoes, and apples, as well as sale items. This is another reason I don’t make my entire recipe list until after I get to the market, sometimes you can get great things on sale, so I stay flexible)
frozen potatoes
canned soup (great for days I don’t want to make lunch or to augment some leftovers)
sale protein (since I am already getting chicken for the chili, I will reuse it for something else later in the week, but I like to get two proteins, but I like to get something on sale, and try to stretch it as much as possible)
almond milk 
canned beans

Kitchen staples that need replenishing:
olive oil
coffee 

Now, where do I shop? The closest store to us is Smiths (aka Ralphs or Kroger) but I prefer the quality of the produce at Sunflower Market (not too much farther) and when they have sales on things, they have good prices! I check the weekly specials at both before I make my descision, but I usually go to Smith’s first because Sunflower has an app where I can check the prices of the weekly specials and compare.

Where do you grocery shop? Do you plan meals or make lists before you go?

8 thoughts on “Grocery Shopping

  1. Oh I always have to make a list! Otherwise, I could spend hours in the grocery store and end up with way too many things. During the summer and winter breaks I always make a list of meals for the week too 🙂 Looks like you have some awesome dinners this week!

  2. Pingback: Monday Breakfast | reads recipes runs

  3. I totally always bring a list, and like you save a few “extra” items to see what is on sale that week. I must say I have been shopping a lot at Wal-Mart since they opened there Super-center right by my house. SO convienant and affordable.

  4. Pingback: Fall Into Fitness Sunday | reads recipes runs

Leave a Reply

