Recipe: Protein Banana Bread Muffins

Morning! I hope you’re having a wonderful day šŸ™‚ The husband and I are lucky enough to have the day off. Just a friendly reminder to remember WHY we get this lovely three day weekend.

Things have been fantastic on the Tone It Up nutrition plan, and one of my favorite parts is that I have found new inspiration to try new recipes. I mean, how long has it been since I did a recipe post?! Sad.

I had three bananas that were waaaaay past their prime. Well for me that’s like a day after being perfectly ripe, I cannot stand overripe bananas! But I hate to see them go to waste, so I started looking up ideas. One of the first things that game to mind was banana bread. I’m a huge fan of baking, but I find it hard to make easy gluten free substitutions. This was one of my first recipes that came out pretty great on the first time.

Protein Banana Bread Muffins

(Adapted from this recipe)

20120528-093934.jpg

Three large ripe bananas
Three scoops chocolate protein powder (or vanilla, whichever you like, I’ve heard that non-whey protein can be better for baking but use what you prefer)
1 1/3 cup flour of choice. I used quinoa but use while wheat if you’d rather. You can also blend to make your own custom mix.
1/4 – 1/2 cup sweetener. I used a combo of Xagave and stevia powder. This will affect the end calorie count, if that’s relevant to you.
1 1/2 tsp baking powder
2 egg whites
1/4 cup vanilla unsweetened almond milk
1/2 cup chopped walnuts
2 tsp vanilla extract
1 1/2 tsp cinnamon

Preheat oven to 350*

Mix all the dry ingredients together, then add and mix all the wet ingredients.

Line a cupcake tin and spray with nonstick spray.

Fill the liners with the batter. These don’t rise much so you can fill them relatively high.

Bake for 25-35 minutes or until a toothpick inserted into the middle comes out clean.

Try to let them cool before you totally devour them šŸ™‚

Alternate cooking method: poor batter into a greased bread pan and bake for about 40 minutes.

These are yumm! The quinoa flour isn’t an exact replacement for wheat so I’m not making promises but these are great! Super filling and very high in protein.

7 thoughts on “Recipe: Protein Banana Bread Muffins

  1. amazing!

    Sorry I haven’t been commenting lately, love! Your blog is one of my all time favourites ā¤ I will be here for every post now šŸ™‚

    Love u

    • Of course!! Any type of protein you like to drink will work. I have noticed that in baking that if you aren’t a huge fan of the taste it gets worse, not better. I found this out the hard way haha. As long as you like the taste go for it šŸ™‚

Leave a comment