Clean Eating Research

Morning lovelies!! I hope you all had a wonderful weekend, whether you had a holiday to celebrate or just the fact that it was the weekend 🙂 Ever since we moved to Utah, our holidays have been fairly low key because we don’t have any family nearby, which has actually been kind of nice.

If you spend any time poking around the health and fitness type blogs, you are sure to come across the term “clean eating.” There are books, blogs, magazines, and diets named after it, but for the longest time I just kind of thought it was a phrase that had lost its meaning and kind of became a catch-all phrase for just healthy food. I mean, I picked up an issue of Clean Eating Magazine and I was like, how is this different from Cooking Light? Or any other health-centered publication?

I had also received a few comments on my blog stating I was such a clean eater and how I did it. I was a little confused. I thought that was a diet or something.

So I did VERY minimal research and I’ve discovered that basically clean eating = eating food as close to its original state as possible. No processed foods, no preservatives. So yes, I do eat fairly clean. But I want to dig a little deeper. I am pretty sure I know what the benefits are, but I think I could use a refresher. Honestly I haven’t been eating that great lately, and I think that doing a little research into the benefits might help me get back on track.

So here is my plan, I am going to head to the library and check out some books about clean eating, read up, and then read some more. Websites, blogs, etc.

Do any of you have any suggestions? Do YOU try to eat “clean”?

10 thoughts on “Clean Eating Research

  1. I eat clean whenever possible. Even when traveling, I try to bring my own snacks, protein powders, etc. It’s really simple when you think about it but when you’re out and about at functions, restaurants, parties, etc., it makes it pretty difficult to stay on track while not offending anyone! I follow Tosca Reno’s tips whenever possible. You should subscribe to Oxygen magazine (if you don’t already). Not only do they have tons of great recipes, but their workouts and tips are AHmazing. Tosca’s site is http://eatcleandiet.com
    It’s a great site with forums to communicate and share ideas/recipes with others that are also on the “eat clean” train.
    My biggest take away from it is how good I feel when I eat clean. I totally feel the difference after indulging in 1 too many sweets and I HATE that.

    • That’s so inspiring that you’re at the place where you feel a difference when you eat too many sweets! I am trying to become more intune with my body. I had grilled cheese for lunch last week then went to ballet later that night and I felt HORRIBLE. Just sluggish and heavy and gross. I couldn’t help but think that the grilled cheese wasn’t even that good, and it made me feel so bad, what’s the point.

      Thanks for the link, I can’t wait to spend some time checking it out 🙂

  2. I think that the biggest part of eating clean is that you have to watch out for hidden sugars in things like dressings, sauces, ect. I always say that if it is in a box, don’t buy it. Good for you for digging deeper and doing more research. I can’t wait to hear what little tidbits that you find out.

  3. I feel like I’m in a good place: some times I eat clean and some times I don’t. I know that I’m doing the best that I can, so I don’t stress over it. I eat a lot worse when my husband is around! He just isn’t concered about what he eats, at all!*

  4. Ok so I have done some major reading in this area and you are on the right track. I joined the Tosca site a couple years ago, purchased and read her book, purchased her cook book, etc. The principles of the “diet” are good ones for any person to follow, but be careful it is still a diet. Which we all know people eventually give up and go back to old habits. I love her site, books, etc don’t get me wrong, but it is hard core. It is more of a body builders diet plan. As a matter of fact if you read about any body builder type diet you basically will have the same info. It is a great basis, but remember that a lot of things that are “bad/off limits” in the Tosca books are still considered clean eating in the health world. You just have to eat as close to nature as possible, minimizing sugar intake, and keep in mind that a healthy lifestyle includes all things in moderation.

    Please keep in mind that I am no expert. I am only telling you this from my personal research/expericence. When I followed Tosca’s plan close to two years ago I lost 10-12 lbs and was starting to obtain visible muscle definition which sounds/looks great. BUT as soon as I started adding some things back into my regular diet I quickly started putting the weight back on and losing the definition. I decided for myself that I didn’t want to follow the program because I didn’t work well with the strictness of the plan and felt as if I was on a “diet”…..which is basically what it is regardless of how much they try to sell it as a lifestyle. I am sure it is a lifestyle for some people (body builders and the such) but it is not for me. I know several people/bloggers that have had great success on the plan and lost a ton of weight, but they do not follow it precisely either. Every one needs some dessert in their lives 🙂

    • Thanks for your thoughtful comment Helen 🙂 I am so glad to hear about your experience with follwing the “diet”. I couldn’t agree more, a world without dessert is not a world I want to live in! I can’t wait to read more with your thoughts in mind, I think it will be really interesting to read her book either way.

Leave a Reply

