Hello There!

Morning friends! I hope you had a glorious weekend! Mine was… interesting. I popped into work for a few hours on Friday, which I normally don’t do and had a horrifying experience on my way into work.

I was driving along a busy street downtown (South Temple for those of you in the know) and there’s this area where there are stairs coming down to the crosswalk. Well, a stroller rolled down the stairs, and the baby who wasn’t strapped in fell out ONTO THE ROAD IN FRONT OF MY CAR. Luckily I saw him and stopped, I pulled my car forward and sideways so that other cars would have to go all the way around. I hopped out just as the baby’s mother was picking him up and helped her off the street and got all the stuff out of the road.

The baby was screaming and flailing, which I took as a good sign, and an ambulance was already on the way. I had to leave because I was blocking traffic, but holy cow, it was one of the craziest things that’s ever happened to me! I can’t stop thinking about what would have happened if I had been driving a TINY bit faster or had looked down at the radio at the wrong time. I am just glad he was OK.

So that tragedy aside, I took a ballet class on Thursday night! I was AMAZING. It felt so friggin good to be back in a dance studio, but after the hour and a half class, it was very clear to me that I am not in college anymore… we were doing the grande allegro across the floor and I was scared that my legs were just going to crumple from tiredness. Needless to say I am still sore.

OR I am sore from my 5K that I did on Saturday. Yeah, I am ridiculous. For those of you paying attention I haven’t run since my LAST 5K the first weekend in February. I don’t recommend this style of training at all. But luckily the course was 99% downhill and I finished in just about 34 minutes. I think that might be a new 5K PR, I need to double check. It was great because it proved to me that yes, I can still run, and that I still enjoy it!

Then on Saturday my husband was out and about in the yard (I am so not used to spring and having to do all this yard work, I’ve never had a yard before! Sad) and some dirt or a rock or something got in his eye and he couldn’t get it out. It was really bad, he tried to flush it out with water and eye drops… nothing worked. So I took him to the urgent care where they told us it would be an hour wait, no matter what. Um, I am pretty sure you’re supposed to do a first come, first serve type thing BUT if someone comes in and is more urgent than the others, YOU SEE THEM FIRST.

The woman at the front desk pretty much turned us away, and directed us to other locations. So we drove 20 minutes to another urgent care (same company) and there was only us and another woman there. After she got checked in, the woman at the front desk was taking her sweet time, and I just went up and was like look, he is in pain, he has something stuck in his eye, can you PLEASE get him checked in. Within 5 minutes he was back seeing a doctor and they got it out. Luckily he didn’t scratch his eye too severely and everything is going to be just fine.

The rest of my weekend involved sparkling wine and puppy loves. I mean look at this little love bug.

20120326-104048.jpg

20120326-104120.jpg

Who wouldn’t love to cuddle with that 🙂

11 thoughts on “Hello There!

    • Haha she has that affect on people. I’m not sure if she is pure bred or not. The person we got her from said she was but not AKC certified. There is a local breeder who breeds away from the squishy nose, so she might be from there. I’ve also heard that sometimes Bostons take some time to grow into their nose and ears. Either way we think she’s the cutest!!

  1. WHOA what a couple of days you’ve had! Driving is a crazy thing we do. I often have that thought, like “Oh if that kid had stepped off the curb one second later..”. Thank goodness you were driving carefully. and YEAH for ballet!! I have class tomorrow AM. I’ll be feeling it for sure. Do your calves go crazy? That’s the first thing for me that kills…

Leave a Reply

