Healthy Habbits

Hi there! I hope you had a wonderful weekend. I’ve been sick sick sick! I started getting sick on Tuesday of last week, but I thought I was just getting a couch/allergies. WRONG. I was super sick all weekend 😦 and because it didn’t start like my usual colds, I didn’t get the chance to Super Mario boss attack it 😦

I actually went to the urgent care on Friday after taking the puppy to the vet (she had to get her shots, poor thing). I am not usually one to hit up the urgent care but I went for two reasons. 1. Because I found out I had been around someone with whopping cough and since I work at a hospital, I wanted to make sure that I didn’t have it. And 2. Because I’ve been having some annoying stomach issues and pain in my right side under my ribs, and I wanted to get a doctor’s opinion. Oh and I don’t have a primary care physician here yet. Haha. Woops.

So I don’t have whopping cough (yay!) and the doctor ordered an ultrasound to check out my gallbladder, which is scheduled for Friday morning. I am going to look into how much it’s going to cost and then talk to my husband, but it turns out I have a lot of the symptoms of gallstones, and it might be a good idea to rule that out. My favorite part was the doctor “Well you know an ultrasound is SO EXPENSIVE and the only treatment for gallstones is SURGERY, are you sure you want to get it checked out?” Um, well, as much as both of those sound like they are going to suck, I think it might be for the best if something is actually wrong with me, yeah?

Anyhoo, I am going to be honest with you friends, I haven’t been the picture of health lately, I’ve been eating things I shouldn’t and not following my own usual healthy habits, so this week I am going to incorporate some healthy habits that I think will help in the long run.

1. Water before coffee. This is something I am SO BAD at. I always want my coffee RIGHTNOW, and I should really hydrate first. So, no coffee for me until I’ve had a big class of water.

2. Smoothies. I am going to replace one meal with a smoothie each day, but not just any smoothie, and nutritional powerhouse! Protein, fruit, spinach, coconut water, green juice, it has it all!

3. Breakfast. I know I’ve waxed poetic about my love of breakfasts here more than I should, but lately, I haven’t had much of an appetite for my favorite meal of the day. I don’t know what it is, but breakfast just doesn’t sound good to me most days. That doesn’t mean I shouldn’t eat something. At the very least I am going to make my self an oatmeal to snack on.

4. Light dinners. Because of my lack of breakfast, my dinners have become, OMGIAMGOINGTOEATYOURFACEOFF, which turns into me eating everything in site. Hopefully #3 will help with this, but I stalked up on some healthy soups and veggies to make things easier.

I really wish I could come up with a 5th, but I can’t… SO what would YOUR addition be? What’s your suggestion for a 5th, easily added, healthy habbit?

9 thoughts on “Healthy Habbits

  1. Sorry about the sickness! Blech! But at least it’s not whooping cough, aye? Hope it’s not gall stones though.. yikes. These are all really great goals/habits to live by. I think SLEEP is key. I neglect this too often.

    • Thanks lady! I totally agree, sleep is HUGE! I don’t have much issue with how much sleep I get, but I am really bad about quality. I will watch netflix in bed, or wake up a bunch, or nap on the weekends, I don’t usually get a consistent amount of uninterupted sleep. Oh and now the puppy snores, so I am up giggling about that half the night. I need to try to record it! haha.

  2. that’s too bad elizabeth. I am in Canada where most healthcare is covered. I always find it so CRAZY how much these minor things cost you Americas. I hope you have a good insurance plan.

    I also hope it’s not gullstones 😦 Feel better xoxoxox

    and I love all your healthy ideas! you go girl xoxo

  3. Good luck on the ultrasound and I really hope it’s not gallstones, but if the ultrasound comes back positive for them then at least you may have some relief from having your gallbladder removed!

    Tip for you: If you have had the TDap or dTAP immunizations you can’t get whooping cough because it’s caused by pertussis (the P in the previously mentioned immunizations), so no worries there! And whooping cough presents as a dry, nonproductive, hacking cough that sounds similar to a honking goose 🙂

    Hope you feel better and that you are able to stick to your healthy habits, they are something all of us should think about! I definitely agree with everyone else so far as well, sleep is incredibly important to not only physical health but mental health as well. It makes you more alert, enables you to have more energy to get through the day and get in a great workout, and also wards off sickness. Studies show that people who get < 6 hours of uninterrupted sleep are more likely to have chronic illnesses and be unhealthy overall. Good luck!!

    • Thanks for your sweet and thoughtful comment Angela! I did get the pertussis vaccine, I had to when I started working in a hospital, so that was great news!

      I totally see how gettig more sleep is better for you, I can totally tell a difference!

  4. Pingback: Ultrasound Update | reads recipes runs

  5. Pingback: Healthy Habit: Lemon Water | reads recipes runs

Leave a Reply

