11 Mile Treadmill Run

Hello loves!! I bet you can guess what I did today… 11 miles! Awesome. Not so awesome: they were on the treadmill.

Let me rewind. My run was initially scheduled for yesterday, but it was raining from the time I got up, until about 2:30. Then it started snowing like crazy. Now I am not a native of Utah, but I know enough to know that that is a recipe for ICE. I stuck close to home yesterday and, once I saw the weather for today, I decided to wait for the sunshine that was promised.

Well, it was gorgeous and sunny, but really, REALLY icy still. At about noon people were still not shoveling their walk, and after an ankle roll on my run two weeks ago, and a good fall last week, I wasn’t willing to risk it. So to the gym I went.

The thought of being on the treadmill for about 2 hours made me cringe. So I made sure that my iPhone was charged and I had the company of Swarley and the gang. (How I Met Your Mother for those who don’t get it, and yes, I watched that episode. I laugh at Swarheeley every. single. time.)

Today I played around with my fuel AGAIN. This time I had a Honey Stinger Waffle before hand, and Honey Stinger energy gelย (with caffeine, hello, have you met me?) on mile 4 and 8. Again, I am finding that fewer calories before and about 200-250 calories spaced throughout the run are really helping. I was wiped at the end of the workout, but I definitely felt like I still had 2.1 more miles in me. I am definitely going to use this combo on race day. These are yummy, the waffle tastes like dessert. The gel tastes like, well, honey, but honey with caffeine, which I can definitely get behind. I could really feel a difference between these and other energy gels.

I didn’t keep track of my time very well, the treadmill lost my time while I paused to retie my shoes, and then tried to kick me off after the first hour. RUDE.

Honestly, this wasn’t all that bad. I was a little bored, but breaking it up to walk a bit and fuel when I did, really helped. As did watching TV haha.

What’s the farthest you’ve ever run on a treadmill?? Up until today I’d only every done about 4 miles max on one, this was definitely a new record!ย 

ONE WEEK! I am going to be a half marathoner. I can’t wait to go to CA and see my friends and family and totally have fun at the race ๐Ÿ™‚

5 thoughts on “11 Mile Treadmill Run

  1. 11 miles on the treadmill is baller! I don’t think I could do that. The most I’ve done is 4, maybe 5 miserable miles on the treadmill. Sounds like you are going to rock your half!*

  2. 11 miles all on the treadmill is crazy! I think I did like 11 or 12 one time and almost died… but I did not have a tv to watch or anything fun like that.

    You are going to rock your half! I’m so excited for you! And it’ll probably be nice to get out of all that snow and ice for a little while, too. ๐Ÿ˜‰

  3. seriously impressive! my friend is marathon training and did 18 on the tm this weekend, totally crazy!! i have done 8 with her before, and with a friend it is much much easier! i love the honey waffles, delicious! when is the half?!!

Leave a Reply

