The Downward Spiral

Hiya! Can you believe it’s already Wednesday, I skipped a workout day this week, and I’ve been super busy at work, I really have no idea what day it is! Haha. I was in a MOOD yesterday. I try not to blog on days like that and get whiney, my blog isn’t about every aspect of my life, and I don’t want to bore/annoy you with my minute annoyances. Even if it is everything and everything that annoys me.

But I could feel myself going into a common downward spiral for me, I would skip a day of sweat, stress eat, and then next thing I know, I am falling behind in all of my goals and feeling worse than I was when I decided to skip the workout.

Honestly I think this habit is the root cause of my weight issues, because it stems mainly from emotional eating, which also get’s me into my emotionally-lazy state, and I just get crankier and crankier.

So today I dug my heels in and crawled out of the downward spiral and got my butt to the gym. I am trying out a gym downtown that I can easily take the bus to before or after work, and get home easily as well. And it’s month to month, so I can cancle it during the summer months and get my run on outside again. I have been finding myself using the cold/ice as an excuse to NOT workout, because I didn’t have another option. I am still planning on my long runs being outside (weather permitting) but for right now, I think that this is best.

The best part is that I feel great now! My mood is a lot better, and I don’t want to eat my feelings. Funny how that works!

Totally random side note: I was SO READY to get something unhealthy from the cafeteria for lunch today, like a grilled cheese and fries, then I saw my friend who is the RD at the hospital and I decided to get a salad, and I had a Zevia soda. OH and half of a cookie dough Lara Bar. AMAZING. I’m just proud of my decision making, that’s all.

How are all of you doing today? How are your weeks going?

5 thoughts on “The Downward Spiral

  1. Good job, champ! Way to pull out of the spiral and get to the gym… it really isn’t easy to do when you’re already down on yourself… so seriously, good job!!! It’s funny how one good decision, like deciding to go get your workout done in the morning, really sets the tone for the rest of your day and good decisions just sort of follow suit. Nicely done! šŸ™‚

  2. I am not even kidding – I say this ALL the time…..and for whatever reason it’s been working for me – drop the goals! make one short term and have a Moldable goal dangling in the future. when we get down on ourselves for being “not good enough” it takes that much longer for us to GET OUT of the very funk we’re trying to avoid.

    My life isn’t perfect but I found that when I stopped getting mad at myself for not achieving and just allowed myself to say “yes, I AM taking 2, rest days in a row and I am doing nothing” then I am more likely to want to run the very next day. and if I dont…then I don;t šŸ˜‰ just try to stop judging yourself. You are awesome and VENT IT AWAY šŸ™‚ it’s your blog, write girl!

    I don’t know if ANY of that made sense but I think we put too much pressure on ourselves when we should just sit back and enjoy the ride šŸ˜‰

Leave a Reply

