In a Funk + Training Update

Hi friends! Sorry I have been so quiet recently. I’ve been in a bit of a funk, and I don’t know why. I’ve been really good about taking my b12 supplement, which is usually the culpret, so I am not sure what’s up. I am sure I will snap out of it soon. In the meantime, I am going to nap when I get home from work today and make my husband pick up dinner after his band practice. Win.

So, as you know, my half marathon is at the end of the month (!!) and now that I am officially half way through my training, I am noticing a pattern. My Wendesday “easy” runs are the devil. And I wish I was faster in general. So I am thinking about joining a gym and incorporating more speedwork on the treadmill and a spin class. Do you think that would be totally horrible for my training? I feel like it would help my shins and calfs too, without setting me back when it comes to my fitness level.

I am excited that I booked my flight to California! I am going to be killing a bunch of time in the city where I went to college, so that will be fun! They should book me as a guest speaker on how to be awesome after graduation. Hahaha.

What are your remedies for when you are in a funk?

 

 

13 thoughts on “In a Funk + Training Update

  1. I think speedwork is key!! Not only does it make you faster, but its not as monotonous! I would do 2 speed workouts a week. 1 longer distance speed work, like run 3 rounds of 1 mile and rest 2 minutes in between and another of shorter sprints. 8 200M sprints with 40 seconds of rest between. And save your longer runs for a day that you’re not working out at the gym so you can enjoy them! You can do it!

  2. I can totally relate to being in a funk. For some reason, I’m having trouble getting back on track with my clean eating now that the holidays have passed, and I’m feeling all blah. I’ve been working out on my normal schedule, and I live in South Florida so there are no frigid temps so I can’t even use that as an excuse! If you think if a way to break the funk, please share!!

  3. I think speed work is a great idea. Especially if you feel like your legs and running are in a funk also. Intervals can be a great pick me up for your muscles and your training. My college coach used to say that if we were in a race and really hurting and thinking “I need to slow down, I can’t keep this pace.” Then it might just be your body tired of that speed and try picking it up for a little while and then adjust back into your pace… just something to break it up.

    For life funks, I try and do something nice for someone else… that usually makes me feel better. And then ice cream is pretty much 100% effective in boosting my mood, also! 🙂

    • I never thought of speeding up instead of slowing down for keeping the pace! That;s a good idea. Maybe that’s why he is a college running coach, and I am not.

      I should go do something nice for someone else, it shouldn’t be too hard, i work in a hospital… haha.

  4. Funks are the worst. I’m there, Sister. It sounds like you need to make some kind of change. It doesn’t have to be big, change your playlist, put together a new workout outfit, paint your nails some crazy color. I hope you’re back to your old self soon!*

  5. it depends…sometimes I let myself be in a funk. but normally I don’t…I LOVE having baths when I want to do nothing. nothing restores me more than hot water and nice relaxing music or candles. In the winter it is not uncommon for me to have multiple baths a day! I know it’s weird but I think I need a hot tub! lol

Leave a Reply

