Vegetarian Lasagna Two Ways

Good morning! I hope you are having a lovely day. I love when I have Mondays off, because the whole week I think it’s a day earlier than it is, and then BAM, it’s Thursday. Haha. It’s the little things, clearly.

Here is that lasagna recipe I promised you! I made it vegetarian because my sister-in-law is a vegetarian, and it’s cheaper to cook that way anyways. šŸ™‚ I used the following measurements to make two lasagnas, one with gluten free noodles in an 9×13 inch pan, and another with butternut squash “noodles” in a smaller pan (it was either 8×8 or something else, all I know is that it came in the Pyrex set and it fit’s inside the other one, haha).

But for regular people, I think you should use the recipe below to make ONE lasagna, either with noodles OR squash. It will yield a thicker lasagna with more layers, always a winner.

Vegetarian Lasagna (serves 8-10)
1 box no-boil noodles of choice (whole wheat or gluten free) OR 1 butternut squash, peeled and thinly sliced into “noodles”
1 jar marinara sauce of choice
1 big container of part skim ricotta (21 oz. I believe?)
1 package frozen spinach, thawed and drained
1 egg
1/2 yellow onion, chopped
1 lb. mushrooms, chopped
2 carrots, peeled and grated
1 Tbsp. chopped garlic
salt and pepper to taste
2 Tbsp. Italian seasonings of choice
3/4 cup shredded mosarella
1/4 cup shredded parmesean cheese

First you need to preheat the oven to 375* and prep the various components for the layers. Mix the ricotta, spinach, and eggs into a large bowl, set aside.

Chop the onion and mushrooms and add to a pan to saute in olive oil. While those are cooking, grate the carrots. Once the mushrooms and onions are cooked and starting to brown, add the carrots and all the seasonings. Cook all of that together until everything is wilty and the carrots are starting to brown. If you do this at a low heat, it should be fine, but if you are impatient like me and do it at a higher heat, add a little water to the pan if needed.

20111229-115615.jpg

Here comes the fun part, layering!! Here is the order to follow (you should get about 4 layers in, so plan accordingly):
sauce
noodles or squash
ricotta mixture
mushroom mixture
repeat!

You want sauce on either side of the noodle layer. Finish the last layer, top with remaining sauce, and top with the shredded cheese! So the last layer will go sauce, noodle, sauce, cheese. But don’t sweat the layering, I can pinky promise you that no one will go OMG YOU SKIPPED A RICOTTA LAYER. It just won’t happen.

Bake at 375* for about 45 minutes covered with foil for the first 30 minutes so that the cheese doesn’t burn. Behold the cheesey goodness.

20111229-125014.jpg

I made these a few days ahead of time, stored them in the freezer, and then popped into the oven. It was amazing! If you are using no-boil gluten free noodles, letting it sit for AT LEAST a day before baking is the ONLY way to get the noodle texture right. Otherwise they seem too raw.

20111229-125147.jpg

Another yummy pic for good measure.

13 thoughts on “Vegetarian Lasagna Two Ways

  1. That looks majorly deelish! I’ve never made lasagna before because it seems like it would be hard. But your recipe looks like something that I might be able to handle.*

  2. This looks so good! I’m not really making food while I’m here in Guam, because I don’t have the necessary dishes and stuff, but when I get home… this will be mine. In fact, now I feel like I need to find a restaurant that serves lasagna because those pictures look so good!

    • OH man, I should do a post for you about cooking with minimal dishes/equipment. My husband and I both lived in places without kitchens at separate times. Give me a toaster oven and a microwave and I can feed you a feast!

Leave a Reply

