Review: The Bungalow

Hi friends! I hope those of you celebrating had a lovely holiday weekend! I’ve been busy with family, and sneaking away to read The Bungalow by Sarah Jio (the same author of The Violets of march.

I was lucky enough to get an advanced copy of the book. When I worked in publishing, one of my responsibilities was to mail those out, so it was exciting to be on the receiving end for once.

20111226-102045.jpg

From Goodreads: In the summer of 1942, twenty-one-year-old Anne Calloway, newly engaged, sets off to serve in the Army Nurse Corps on the Pacific island of Bora-Bora. More exhilarated by the adventure of a lifetime than she ever was by her predictable fiancé, she is drawn to a mysterious soldier named Westry, and their friendship soon blossoms into hues as deep as the hibiscus flowers native to the island. Under the thatched roof of an abandoned beach bungalow, the two share a private world-until they witness a gruesome crime, Westry is suddenly redeployed, and the idyll vanishes into the winds of war.

A timeless story of enduring passion, The Bungalow chronicles Anne’s determination to discover the truth about the twin losses-of life, and of love-that have haunted her for seventy years.

Wow. Just wow. This book is amazing! I’ve been looking forward to it since I read Violets. Sarah is just an amazing author. She has such an elegant writing style, and truly brings her characters to life and transports you directly into the story.

I loved the era in which the book took place, it was realistic and the characters were so appropriate.

I feel like no matter how I write this review all I really want to say is OMG read this book, it’s amazing!

Like Violets, there are a few story lines that beautifully wound together. I just can’t stop gushing about this book!

It’s on sale tomorrow, and I highly recommend it 🙂

As the new year approaches I am doing some blog housekeeping and I am thinking instead of “reviews,” making a virtual book club. It’s always been a goal of mine to have more of a discussion because I don’t really like feeling like I am “giving away” the plot. I’d rather read and discuss. Thoughts?

2 thoughts on “Review: The Bungalow

Leave a Reply

