Training Update: Week 1

Holy cow, one week down, seven to go until my half marathon!

This week was GREAT! I felt like I was challenged and pushing myself without feeling like I was going to keel over and die. OK, I kind of felt like that on Monday because I was so unprepared for the cold, but other than that, things are going well.

Here is what I did:
Monday: walk 2 miles, run 1 mile, walk 2 miles.
Tuesday: 2 weights circuits
Wednesday: 1 mile easy run + abs
Thursday: REST
Friday: same as Monday
Saturday: REST (I swapped Saturday and Sunday, I was a little hung over haha, woops!)
Sunday: 2 mile “long” run

I felt great the first few days, then I started to feel a little sluggish. Yesterday my legs felt like lead and that I couldn’t lift them high enough to run. My average pace was SO slow compared to the beginning of the week, I don’t really know what happened. Oh wait. Three glasses of wine happened and I am not 21 anymore you say? Well FINE.

What I want to work on: My overall energy level. I think it may have been the crazy stressful week I had last week, but I was dragging. I also want to work on pacing and pushing myself. An “easy” one mile should not be me going out and pushing it and having a new mile PR. But on the other hand, walking should not consist of sauntering, I should be speed walking!

I also need to plan out my routes better and possibly get a gym membership. For example, I have 6 miles to do tonight, and I honestly don’t see that happening outside. I am going to run out of daylight for sure and I just don’t feel comfortable running alone in the dark. I am also not good at visualizing what 6 miles is on foot (or anyway for that matter). I did this huge loop on Friday only to discover that it was barely 4 miles.

All in all, I think it was a super successful week! On one hand I am feeling apprehensive about the entire half marathon and that I might not be ready in time. But on the other hand, I know I’ve done all I can to set myself up for success by having an ironed out training plan, a mapped out meal plan, and a positive attitude and determination.  All I need to do is stick to the plan and it will all work out for the best.

10 thoughts on “Training Update: Week 1

  1. It’s really hard to run in the cold or dark… I’m totally with you on that. I would get a gym membership or does the UofU have an indoor track? I know we had one at BYU in Provo and that was super helpful.

    Great job making a plan… A even just having the goal in the first place! I’d love to do a half marathon… maybe I’ll try and find one, too! Look at you inspiring me again… but I still haven’t left on that run yet today, dang it! 🙂

    • Now that you’re feeling better in the second trimester, I bet you will be back in your groove in no time!! That’s a good idea to look at the U, I work/live fairly close. If I go to the gym it’s usually the one by the Steiner pools where they have the ice rinks from the Olymic training center. THey MUST have an indoor track somewhere!

  2. Sounds like a good week! There are no trails near me, there are 2 and 3 mile stretches of uninterrupted sidewalk. When I need high mileage, I’ll go out and back on those stretches to meet my goal distance. Maybe that would work for you. But, the advantage of the gym would be safety for when it’s dark (and cold).*

    • Good idea! The only issue is that I live on a HILL, so I have to do a lot of out and backs instead of loops, unless I want to die on the hill haha. I think I found some good ways to loop my usual routes to make a longer one.

  3. I have started marking out maps on Google Maps… funny… I couldn’t believe that from my house to Liberty Park was only 3miles! It seems like it should be 10 at least! LOL. But… it isn’t a bad run and then loop the park for extra miles. Liberty is nice in that it gives you concrete training, or you can move to the bark path… or there is a dirt path. AND there are working water fountains. VERY ideal in these winter training months. I hate running alone also… sent you a PM on Daily Mile to see if you are interested in running some time. Since it looks like we are both on a half training plan. I joined the SL Sports Complex because you can run inside above the ice rink. BUT, with that same pass you can go to the Holliday Lion’s Center and they actually have a rubberized, dedicated running track above the basketball court. WAY better than the sports complex if you have to run much. The frustrating thing at the complex is that if there is a game or anything going on, there are kids running around everywhere and you are constantly dodging people. Just FYI. Happy training!

Leave a Reply

