Healthy Holidays Part 4 + Recipe: Mac(less) & Cheese

Hi there!! Happy Sunday to you! I’m all cozied up on the couch, my husband is watching football, and I am blogging. Fun times. We also got a sugar cookie scented candle, which just makes everything cozier, in my opinion.

This weekend I am making a table centerpiece involving a ridiculous amount of gold glitter. I can’t wait. We (read: me, my husband could care less) decided to go with a gold and cream color scheme this year with our decorations. I can’t WAIT to get our tree next weekend. Here is a sneak (and unfinished) peak of an element of the center piece:

One aspect of having a healthy holidays that I think is sometimes overlooked is stress. I think for a lot of us for so many reasons (money, family, travel, work, and just being busy) really leads to more stress, which no matter what your goals are is not healthy.

So remember to do what you need to do to reduce your stress. Shop online to avoid the crowds (this has been huge for me), space out your purchases so that they don’t overwhelm your bank account (this is why we bought all our decorations before we bought a tree, it helps), and most importantly of all, remember what the holidays are all about.

It’s about spending time with the people close to you, not stressing about having six people at your house for dinner, or getting a gift for the hostess of that party you are going to, or how much money you spent on your family’s gifts.

Take some time this week to write out what is stressing you out and what you can do to change it. Or, if there’s nothing you can do to avoid it, take some time to deal with your stress better. Hit the gym and work out that stress (running really helps me) or maybe try out a new fitness class. Schedule some alone time that is not holiday related at all like reading or cleaning (unless that makes you stress more) and don’t feel bad about it one bit!

Another huge one that I realized over Thanksgiving, is letting go and remembering to ask for help. Something I am not good at, especially in the kitchen. I decided to put my husband in charge of the yams. It worked out just fine, and was a lot less for me to worry about.

One last tip, be aware of unhealthy ways that you react to stress and find a new way to relieve it. For example, my familial stress leads RIGHT to me grabbing something unhealthy and pigging out. Not worth it! I’ve started putting on some music and going for a walk, and it really helps 🙂

And, if you really want some creamy yummy comfort food that won’t leave you feeling like you completely ruined your goals, try this Mac(less) & Cheese recipe. It’s pretty amazing!

Mac(less) & Cheese (makes 4 servings) 

1 spaghetti squash, cooked and cooled slightly (see how I cook them here)
1/3 cup goat cheese
1/2 cup parmesan cheese, divided
salt and pepper to taste
paprika for garnish

Preheat oven to 375º. Once cool enough to handle, scoop out the flesh of the squash into a bowl. Add goat cheese, 1/4 cup of the parmesan cheese, and the salt and pepper. Mix well.

Transfer to a baking dish. Top with remaining cheese and bake until cheese on top is melty, about 10 minutes.

Remove from the oven, sprinkle with paprika and pepper and enjoy! We had it with a turkey burger, and it was amazing.

Even my husband, who is not a squash fan loved this. He mentioned something about the amount of cheese in it making it as good as it is, but it really wasn’t that much cheese, so I figured out the nutritional info, just because I was curious.

Not too shabby! I think the fat factor was from the goat cheese. If you feel like that’s too much use half goat cheese, half nonfat plain Greek yogurt.

Are you stressed about the upcoming holidays? If so what about? 

And a somewhat random question: Do you like having nutritional info included in recipes you find online? I’m not sure if I want to include it all the time, but I know it can be helpful. 

4 thoughts on “Healthy Holidays Part 4 + Recipe: Mac(less) & Cheese

Leave a Reply

