A True RRR Weekend (and a race recap)

Hello! It’s been a few days, sorry! Apparently when I said I needed to rest, I meant in more than one way. I’ve also been SO busy at work this week, I just haven’t been thinking all that well.

This weekend I am really living up the name of the blog! Let me explain (race recap at the end of the post).

READS: This week I got an advanced copy of The Bungalow by Sarah Jio, the same author of the best book I read this summer. I CAN’T WAIT! I may or may not have done a happy dance in my kitchen as I was ripping the package open.

RECIPES: Right now I have a new recipe in the oven cooking away. Hopefully it’s as amazing as my imagination hopes it will be.

RUNS: This morning I did the Salt Lake City Jingle Bell “5K.” I put 5K in quotes because it was NOT 3.1 miles. It was closer to 2.6. I think what happened was that they mapped it using the streets, but the actual race route went along the inner road at Liberty Park. which shaved a big chunk off the race. Regardless new PR. I’ll take it 😉

To be honest, this race wasn’t well organized, and I was kind of frustrated by the whole thing, and the short route just made me even more annoyed. The fact that everyone had bells on just added to my annoyance. This was me attempting to be festive.

So here’s the recap. I fueled with a 1/4 cup oatmeal (dry added to water) and half a scoop of protein powder and of course, some coffee. My husband tagged along with me to this one, which I loved, he was such a trooper.

I got their early to pick up my race packet. The people running the tables were super rude. They didn’t tell me that the chip was in the bag in an envelope, and they looked at me like I asked if I could kill someone when I asked them if they had any smaller shirt size. (The shirts were cotton, not tech shirts, totally different sizing, and it really wasn’t a big deal, I just thought I would ask.)

Communication about where the race actually started and when was a little confusing, and I am not sure how the chips started. They had a chip on our shoes, but there was no starting gate or line that I could see. Maybe I am missing something.

Mentally I went into this race wanting a few things: to PR (sub 35 ideally) and have a negative split. I did all of the above. And if I had continued my pace I would have accomplished a sub 35, so I am OK with it.

The first half of the race was nice, I just settled into a comfortable pace and held back a little. I am really trying to learn how to pace myself, and I think I am doing pretty good! I knew the course, my goal was to go comfortable for the first half, and then as I exited the park pick up the pace and really push it.

At about half way I ran across a lady named Melissa who asked if she could run with me to push herself. I told her no worries! I was about there that I realized how short the race was, but it was still nice. We parted ways once I picked up the pace, but it was really nice to have a buddy for a while 🙂

The course, although short, was nice. I’ve been meaning to run in Liberty Park, because it’s a 1.5 mile loop, and they have a wood chip trail. I actually ran a chunk of the race on that so it would be less impact on my body. It was nice! As was the weather.

My lovely husband was waiting for me at the finish line with a soy peppermint mocha. Perfect post race fuel 🙂

Final time: 30:18 
Distance: 2.56

What are you up to this weekend? Any reads, recipes, or runs? 

After the race my husband and I hit up the craft store for some decorations, and some crafty items for decorations, always fun! The I went to Target and didn’t get anything because they were out (I didn’t know it was possible to walk out of there empty handed). Then I went to Salt Lake Running to get some Rock Tape for my shin. Now I can’t get off the couch.

8 thoughts on “A True RRR Weekend (and a race recap)

  1. I ran it also (I was in the snowman hat and sweats). I was also disappointed that it wasn’t a full 5K; my Garmin showed 2.55 miles. It’s the first year for this race in SLC; hopefully it will improve in future years. Even the R & R races have issues the first year. Love your blog, btw.

  2. Thanks Pam!! I totally remember seeing your hat 🙂 You’re right, the first year is to get the kinks out. It’s a fun start/end location regardless! If I had known there were going to be some readers there I would have loved to meet you! Next SLC race, I will be sure to post about beforehand.

  3. I’m jealous of your gorgeous weather. That 5k was mighty short! What can you do? I’d be frustrated, too. Great finish time nonetheless. Congrats on the PR!*

  4. Pingback: So You Ran a Half Marathon… | reads recipes runs

Leave a Reply

