Healthy Holidays Part 1

Good morning to you! I am coming at your from Starbucks this morning, I dropped my husband off at work, and now I have some time to kill before I head to my work meeting (not at the office).

I need to take a minute to tell you about the adorable little boy who sat across from me. About three years old, adorable, kept smiling and me and saying hi. When I would say hi back he kept looking over at his dad and rolling his eyes. So cute!

Food, coffee and WIFI? Count me in! Speaking of counting in, check out my guest post over on Healthy Disney today. It’s about my training for the Tinker Bell Half Marathon ๐Ÿ™‚

Let’s jump right in, shall we? I wanted to do a Healthy Holidays series pretty much since I started the blogs. I know that for a lot of people, the holidays mean weight gain, but really, that doesn’t have to be true! For years I have managed to navigate the holidays without really much stress or added weight gain, and I am here to share that with you ๐Ÿ™‚

(source)

Not all at once of course! I am going to be doing a post with helpful tips and a recipe a week (in separate posts) until New Years (um, can we talk about the fact that that is only 8 weeks away. WHAT?!).

First order of business: Prep mentally.

This is HUGE. Sit down, decide what your personal goals are, and set yourself up for success. For some people, that may just be to maintain your weight and to remember to workout more. That’s great! It’s totally up to you.ย Plan ahead, and know what days you are going to maybe eat a little more, and add in an extra walk or have a super lean and green lunch.

Setting yourself up for success is such a huge factor in being mentally prepared and it will be huge in helping you reach your goals.

Be sure to share your goals with your family and incorporate them as well. Remember what the holidays are reallyย about and focus on that, the rest will fall into place, I promise.

What are your goals for the holiday season? I am ridiculous and trying to continue to LOSE weight before my half marathon, and pick up the mileage ๐Ÿ™‚ย 

9 thoughts on “Healthy Holidays Part 1

  1. Prep mentally is great advice! My goals are to listen to my body, maintain my half marathon training, and take care of my mental health. I’m expecting an emotional holiday season this year, but hopefully knowing that ahead of time will make things easier.

    I read your guest post, BTW. Good stuff!*

    • Thanks Amy! Good for you for setting goals early and prepping yourself for what to expect. This is going to be the first year for me that I am not going to spend with my family (my in-laws are coming to visit) so I have a feeling I will be getting pretty emotional as well. Thanks for checking out my guest post ๐Ÿ™‚ !

  2. I think that trying to lose weight while training for a race is hard work girl! nice goals though, my advice is just eat more protein rich foods as they will fill you up faster and keep you full longer – especially after all those long runs!

    I will go check out your guest post ๐Ÿ˜€

    • Thanks Ali! I’m noticing that fueling SMARTER and tweaking the times that I eat is helping a lot while I am losing weight while training. I’m realizing that I don’t need to eat that much more if I focus on the when ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. good call.. I should probably have some holiday goals.. i need to lose a few lbs before the hot chocolate 15k on dec 3… then from there, i’ll just try not to pack it on over Christmas!

  4. Pingback: Healthy Holidays Part 3 | reads recipes runs

Leave a Reply

