Recipe: Slow Cooker Meatballs

Gooooood morning! I am still running on my post-run endorphins, such an amazing feeling. I had a great run this morning, even if I did look like I am preggers:

I started my run wearing a hat and gloves, but then it was too warm, so I shed them. I didn’t feel like carrying them, so I zipped them up in my new jacket (it is tight on the bottom, so I knew they wouldn’t slip out). Hilarious or awkward. I think hilarious, but that cold be the endorphins talking.

This weekend I tried a new recipe, and it was indeed a WIN! I love making meatballs, but they usually end up somewhat dry, so I thought why not try the slow cooker? Success.

Slow Cooker Meatball Recipe (serves 4-6 depending on how you choose to serve them)
1-1.5 lbs. lean ground meat (I used turkey breast because it was on sale)
1/3 cup (about 1/4 of a whole) yellow onion, diced
2 tsp. chopped garlic
2 large handfuls baby spinach, roughly chopped
cooking spray
1 egg
1/2 cup cornmeal or breadcrumbs of choice (I use cornmeal instead of breadcrumbs as a wheat-free alterative a lot)
2 Tbsp. of your choice of Italian seasonings (basil, oregano, or a mix of a few)
Salt, pepper, and hot sauce for seasoning
1 jar tomato sauce of choice

Saute onion, garlic, and spinach in the cooking spray until soft. Add to mixing bowl and let cool a bit.

Add the remaining ingredients (except the sauce) and mix until it easily forms meatballs. Form as many meatballs as you can, I usually make mine a little smaller than a golf ball.

Add your tomato sauce + 1/2 jar of water to your slow cooker, then add the meatballs.

Add meatballs to liquid (you can just barely see them above) and cook on high for 3-4 hours or low for 7-8 hours. If you need to leave them in longer or you are going to cook them at a higher temperature, add more liquid.

Serve alone, with pasta, with veggies, or whatever floats your boat!! I don’t have a picture of the finished product because I forgot when I initially made them, and my husband stole the leftovers. They are AMAZING though, no dryness whatsoever.

Enjoy!

10 thoughts on “Recipe: Slow Cooker Meatballs

  1. I just got a slow cooker and have yet to use it….I may try this. You DO look like you’ve got a baby in there lol 😛 I thought that was what you were showing us until I read further lol

    • Oh you are going to be so hooked on your slow cooker once you bust it out! I love mine 🙂

      Haha if I could keep a baby a secret until I was showing that much I would deserve some sort of prize! At least the lady who totally passed me on a hill will think it’s because I am preggers, not that I am just that slow… haha.

  2. I always look preggo when I shove my gloves in my pockets! Ah, runners problems. I love that jacket though. Whyyyy does lulu have to be so dang expensive?!
    Those meatballs look ridiculous and I am always looking for new crockpot recipes. I am totally making these (if I don’t forget about them, which may happen).

Leave a Reply

