Halloween Horror!

Good morning!! I hope you all had a lot of Halloween fun yesterday. I just had to share quite a shocking story from last night’s trick-or-treators.

So it was getting later in the night, so we started being more lax with the candy, letting kids pick their own or take an extra piece, and one girl asked if she could take an extra piece for her sister. I said sure, and she asked if we had any more just plain chocolate. I told her I think that she had the last one.

She says, “Oh, OK, we are trying to get just plain chocolate and stuff for my baby sister, she’s just a baby, thanks Happy Halloween!”

I stood at my door in shock. SHOCK! I MEAN REALLY!? I am not going to lie, the girl was already overweight, and (I am trying not to be judgmental here) but if that’s the norm in her family, it’s no wonder.

I have no issues handing out candy to kids, especially since I am a huge fan of treats in moderation. When I was a kid, I never really saw more than a piece or two of my candy after Halloween.

I guess my point is, that there is a lot of influence parents have (both good and bad) on their child’s diet and attitude towards food and it drives me nuts that some people don’t take it seriously! (I might be a bit touchy on the subject because I had a very rough conversation with my mom yesterday about a similar subject.)

Thoughts? Arguments? Opinions? I am in the mood for a good convo people!

9 thoughts on “Halloween Horror!

  1. I wonder what her definition of “baby” is? I’ve heard children referred to as “babies” until they are 4 or 5. I can’t imagine giving our baby a piece of chocolate until she’s at least 2 1/2-3 years old. I’m not a great example of “healthy eating,” but we’ve made some lifestyle changes since she was born. 🙂

    By the way, I just found your blog, and I’m loving it! 🙂

    • Oh yay! I am so glad you found me 🙂

      I agree with you about not knowing how old the baby was, but I am thinking since they wanted something for it to “suck” on I am thinking no teeth yet… Good for you fo rmaking some lifestyle changes for the health of your family! It will pay off in the long run 🙂

  2. Hehe…part of me wants to post anonymously on this one! I’ve actually called my best friend on my way to work before, after dropping the Bean off at preschool, to vent about this. Disclaimer, yes I know there’s about 1% of overweight people who truly have some weird imbalance and for those of you…this does not apply. There was a little girl in my daughter’s preschool class who would be sitting eating her McDonalds breakfast with chocolate milk at the table, everyday, when I dropped the Bean off. This 4 year old, who was the same height as the Bean, was twice her weight. It honestly, ticked me off. One day I saw her mother drop her off. The next week I saw her grandmother drop her off. It became obvious that this little gal had no role model for healthy eating, as both adults were what I would consider morbidly obese. Where does a cycle like that end? (where did it begin for that matter?!) Then I get REALLY ticked when I think about school lunches, and how our schools, that SHOULD be a safe and healthy place for ours kids, are just re-affirming what that little gals family is teaching her. I could go on and on. My little Bean always gets some sort of treat during the day and never thinks she shouldn’t…she also eats 3 healthy meals, which I make her (on an INCREDIBLE tight budget, as in paycheck to paycheck, IF THAT, people!) and plays a lot. As in PLAYS, like a kid SHOULD do…not sits in front of a T.V.

    With that, I say…Happy November.

    • Jamie, I think you are SO right and I love everything you had to say. I think that a lot of people use the “it’ too expensive to eat healthy” excuse WAY too much. For example, I can stock up on ogranic oatmeal when it’s on sale from the bulk bins for 99 cents a POUND and it lasts for SO long since a serving is only a half cup uncooked. It’s just an excuse, like you said it’s totaly possible. I too feel sad for little kids who aren’t even given the chance to have a healthy lifestyle, like you said, it’s just going to keep perpetuating itself.

  3. Sorry to rain on the parade of judgment, but maybe this could be an opportunity for you to share with someone how all of you manage this so easily and economically. The issue is often one of convenience and lack of information. Our society makes it all too easy to grab a fat-filled breakfast. Until you take that first step to make more healthy life choices, it can seem an insurmountable obstacle. I don’t think judgmental looks/comments from others help anyone.

    • Thanks for your comment! I totally get that it’s seeming a little judgey here, but my main purpose was mainly to start a discussion and to think about how actions we make as adults and parents have an affect on younger generations.

      I couldn’t agree more that the lack of information and overwhelming cheap, unhealthy choices make it SO hard on families. I also agree that it’s no help to be judgemental, it perpetuates a negative stereotypes and makes people feel more and more uncomfortable, no matter what the situation and I appologise if that’s what this post and the comments sounded like.

      I really appreciate you stopping by and taking the time to share your opinions!

    • I think first you have decide what one healthy choice you want to start with. Narrow, narrow, narrow. I think people just think, “I want to be healthy”. But it is tiny baby steps, everyday, that lead to a healthy lifestyle. If someone’s is, “eat healthier”…start with ONE meal per day. Choose to start eating a better breakfast and research how you can do that, …after awhile, add a healthier lunch…then dinner, then tackle snacks.

      For me, I’ve taken the statement, “society makes it easy” out of my vocabulary. I can’t handle thinking that someone trying to make money is going choose MY path in life…or my child’s for that matter. Most things worth doing aren’t easy. Most people trying to sell you something…don’t care what it takes or what the long term affects are.

      Bottom line, you can’t tackle “Healthy Living” in one question, one post, or with one person. There are thousands of blogs out there guiding the way, not to mention article, magazines and doctors…a person only has to decide what they want…and start asking the questions. Let me know if you have any specifically and I’d be happy to help!

  4. Logan had his first piece of chocolate at 19 months. I am a pretty bad parent in regards to “treats” BUT that b/c I don’t bake all the time, so when I do he likes helping, licking the beaters, and having a bite of the cookie or cupcake, muffin at the end. Colin on the other hand gives him sips of his coke! and chips!!!! I told Colin not to and he argues that I let Logan have sweets….my argument is this – chips and pop are always readily available where as baked goods are a treat, a dessert, usually only at special occasions….am I wrong?? lol

    PS: I agree /w the first comment Logan will be 2 soon and the neighbours call him “baby logan”

Leave a Reply

