Mental Roadblocks

Good morning! Stay tuned for Parts 3 and 4 of my Easy Meal Series, I thought I’d break it up a bit. I hope that you are having a lovely week so far! I’m tired and cold, but good. I had a great run yesterday, which was preceded by a great weight workout. I am seriously LOVING running in the fall weather after work (before work it’s dark and freezing outside, literally) so much.

So now that I am at a good run/walk pace for about 3 miles. I’ve noticed that I am becoming fairly compliant with my pace and distance, and finding far too many excuses to skip workouts. I need to keep pushing myself, and I know this, but really, it comes down to a mental thing. I am scared of what comes next because it’s entirely new territory. The farthest I’ve EVER run is 4ish miles, I usually get to about a 3 mile zone and just keep at the same pace and run/walk pattern.

As I am sure you know, this can’t continue if I am going to complete a half marathon. So my goal for November is to push myself just a little bit more each run. I want to get to comfortably running 3 or 4 miles (without extended walking breaks) by the end of the month, because shortly after that, I am going to begin my official training plan for my half.

I am terrified/excited but I am trying to focus more on the excited. Every time I head out on a run, I come back feeling a sense of accomplishment (and those endorphins are no joke) and I know that if I am good about following my plan, I will get to where I need to be for the race.

How do you deal with mental roadblocks in your exercise or training goals?

8 thoughts on “Mental Roadblocks

  1. Start a fitness journal or keep weekly photos of yourself, your distance achievements, time achievements etc. I just did a 6 week post like this today…and seeing the changes TOTALLY kill any roadblocks I may come up against!

  2. I wish I had some awesome advice, but I wanted to let you know I definitely do this to myself too. I’m really good at telling myself I can’t do something, even though it always turns out that I can.

  3. You can do it! Think about how good you feel after a run. I had a bad run today, but I knew I’d be kicking myself if I quit in the middle of it. I told myself that the run didn’t have to be fast, it just had to be. Once you start increading your distance, I bet you’ll feel even more motivated to keep going!*

    • I love that “it didn’t have to be fast, it just had to be” I am going to have to remember that!! Sometimes I make “deals” with myself if I am not motivated. Like run as slow as humanly possible and take walking breaks, just finish 2 miles. Then I get out there and realize it’s not so bad, and I pick it up and enjoy myself.

  4. I totally feel the same way with starting to skip workouts once I get settled in a pace/distance, but need to push myself more. I love reading your blog because then I get inspiration!

Leave a Reply

