WIAW: Stuck in a Rut

Hi there my dears! How is your day? I am going to be honest with you, I am having a frustrating week but I am determined to wake up tomorrow refreshed and ready to tackle the day with a new attitude. In the meantime let’s “wee waa!” Haha.

So I noticed that my What I Ate Wednesday post I had ready to go was pretty much EXACTLY the same as the post from last week. Oatmeal for breakfast. Veggies + chicken + flatbread (I got them from Costco and my husband can’t eat them) for lunch + protein drink for snack + squash and a protein for dinner. Last night I had spaghetti squash and sausage. Again.

Sorry I am so boring. I do this, I get stuck on similar eats because they are easy and because I don’t usually eat the same thing as my husband, I need to eat it before it goes bad.

Do you ever get stuck in a food rut? Do you think it’s a good thing or a bad thing? I think that they can be OK, as long as your rut involves at least a little variety. Mine also don’t usually last more than maybe two weeks so I don’t think I have to worry about nutrient deficiencies from it, but I try to be aware and add variety.

8 thoughts on “WIAW: Stuck in a Rut

  1. I eat the same thing for breakfast every single workday. Monday through Friday I eat a poached egg on a buttered whole wheat bagel slice with a go-mug of coffee. Writing for the blog has made me a little less rutty in my dinner choices though! Ha!

  2. I was in a food rut the past couple of weeks, actually. Well it was Thanksgiving, so that doesn’t count. But I was definitely in an every day eats food rut, eating repeat foods all the time, and my blog definitely suffered. I feel like I have finally broken out of it this week though, you can do it!

  3. I live for food ruts! Okay, let me clarify. I love to be scheduled and not vary. I’m not one of those cool spontaneous people… for the most part. I like to run in the morning, work durning the day, and sit down to dinner with the hubs at night, just us and the office or the simpsons. And I like the same types of foods for my breakfast, lunch and sometimes dinners… because I know what I like and I know what feels good. I’m a little more adventurous at dinner meals… but even if we go out… I have certain dishes at certain restaurants that I know I love and I have a hard time going with something else. I used to be a pretty picky eater as a kid… and now, I guess that I still kinda hold onto that when I eat.

    I get into running ruts, also… and run the same routes over and over and over again… but I enjoy that too… I like the familiar. Not that I’m against a little something something to spice up my life now and again… Jason’s helped me be a little more adventurous that way…

    Okay. Sorry for the novel. Just saying, ruts aren’t always bad. 🙂 Hope your weekend is SUPER!!!!

Leave a Reply

