WIAW + How I Cook Spaghetti Squash

Hi lovlies!! It’s Wednesday!!! You know what that means!

Let’s get down to brass tacks (anyone know the origin of that saying?).

Breakfast was an egg white scramble with a turkey sausage patty (at the cafeteria at work). They finally know the more veggies the better, and to use the spray not the “butter” or whatever it is they use usually. Score!

Lunch was a salad with chicken, cucumber, mango salsa, and a 100 calorie flatbread. Have you seen these? They are like a cross between a pita and a tortilla, I love them!

Snack was a Sun Warrior protein drink with almond milk. And water. Always water.

Snack 2.0 was after my run, I knew I needed something to hold me over till dinner. Some pretzels, a Crystal Light Pure, and a new library book on the side.

Dinner was a (small) spaghetti squash with a bit of butter, garlic, salt, and red pepper flakes. On top was a chicken, feta, and spinach sausage. Yummy in my tummy!

Never had a spaghetti squash? This is how I make it:

1. CAREFULLY cut the squash in half lengthwise. Don’t do this (it was stuck and my husband bad to literally break it apart to get the knife out):
2. Scoop out the seeds.ย 
3. Fill a baking dish with about 1/4 inch of water, place the squash halves in cut side down. Cover with foil and bake at 400 degrees until soft. About 45 minutes depending on the size of the squash. (I hate undercooked squash, so I always make mine nice and tender.)
4. Remove from the oven and take off the baking dish to cool for a bit. Once you can safely handle it (or use an oven mitt) use a fork to make “spaghetti” by gently scraping out the flesh.

If you don’t have 45 minutes, or you have a microwave (we don’t), or you want a more in-depth tutorial with pictures, check out Janetha’s tutorial post.ย 

What are you eating today? Have you had spaghetti squash before? Love it or hate it?

Check out an amazing running shoe giveaway on Janae’s blog Hungry Runner Girl. If you haven’t checked our her blog, regardless of the giveaway, you should. She’s amazing and has such a fun blog, and I pretty much want to be her new BFF ๐Ÿ™‚ ย 

15 thoughts on “WIAW + How I Cook Spaghetti Squash

  1. You know, I haven’t had spaghetti squash before. I feel like I wouldn’t like it but how would I know? lol

  2. Pingback: Healthy Holidays Part 4 + Recipe: Mac(less) & Cheese | reads recipes runs

Leave a Reply

