Recipe: Red Lentil Soup

Happy Friday friends!!!

Thanks for your well wishes on my post yesterday, I am feeling a lot better today! I am still taking it easy but I feel so much better than I was.

This recipe is an attempt to recreate a soup I used to eat all the time when I lived in California. It was this great Mediterranean pita place that I seriously wish I could have transported to Utah with me. The last time I was there I started asking questions about what was in it, and while they were somewhat enigmatic in their responses, after quite a bit of trial and error I think I got it!

My favorite part (other than the super yumminess) is that it’s so few ingredients and so easy to make.

Red Lentil Soup 
makes 2 good-sized portions

1/2 yellow onion, diced
1 cup dried red lentils
3 cups chicken broth (or vegetable broth if you want to keep it vegetarian)
2 tsp. cumin
salt and pepper
1 Tbsp. lemon juice plus more for adding at the end

(The general ratio to make this a soup is three parts liquid to one part lentils so you can adjust according to how many servings you want.)

It’s so simple to make this! Dice the onion and saute with some cooking spray on medium high heat. Add the spices. Then add the lentils and broth, cover, and reduce heat to low. Let cook for about 25 minutes, add 1 Tbsp. of lemon juice. Cover and cook again until the lentils are soft and the soup is kind of a chowder consistency.

Ladle into bowls and add more lemon juice to taste. Most importantly enjoy!!

OK so I promise one of these days I will share a recipe that isn’t a soup… maybe haha. This soup is light and filling full of protein and fiber. It’s great!

Do you have any restaurant dishes that you wish you could recreate at home? My list is long so long… 🙂

8 thoughts on “Recipe: Red Lentil Soup

  1. I’m so glad you’re feeling better! This looks great… It’s still a little too warm for soup here, but it’s supposed to be cold and rainy next week, so I’ll have to come back and try this soup out!

    There is a creamy tomato basil soup from a restaurant in Provo, UT called Zupas that I LOVE!!! I’ve tried to recreate it… I’ve tried other tomato basil… There’s just nothing quite like it.

    • Thanks Jessica!

      I keep hoping that if I eat enough soup it will be cold here haha. I hear it’s coming though!

      There is a Zupas on 4th south I’ve never been but now I think I will have to try it out 🙂

  2. Pingback: Healthy Holidays Part 3 | reads recipes runs

Leave a Reply

