Recipe: Chicken Soup with Butternut Squash

Good morning! I hope you are having a great day 🙂 I am feeling a little under the weather. I think it’s from my flu shot on Friday, and I hope I can pull it together to get out the door and run after I post this. But I definitely don’t want to make myself feel worse… humm, maybe I will make myself leftovers of this soup for breakfast, I am sure that will make me feel 100% in no time!

Oh me oh my do I have a recipe for you! I had this for dinner last night, and I could not get enough. It was a great recipe for fall and I can tell you already it’s going to be a regular in my repertoire.

Chicken Soup with Butternut Squash
Serves 6-8 (depending on serving size mine was closer to six)

1/2 yellow onion, chopped
1 medium parsnip* peeled** and chopped
2 medium carrots peeled** and chopped
1 cup chopped celery (don’t be afraid to use the leaves, they add great flavor)
salt and pepper
1.5 tablespoons dried dill
6-8 cups chicken broth (or bullion and water, whatever you prefer)
1 skinless chicken breast (bone in is actually OK in this instance, since it will get super tender and add great flavor, but boneless skinless is fine too)
1/2 butternut squash, peeled and chopped

Chop the onion, parsnip, carrots, and celery and saute for a few minutes on medium heat in a drizzle of olive oil. Add seasonings. Here is a soup tip for you: Add seasonings early in the cooking process to develop more flavor. This is a general rule for most dried seasonings 🙂

Add chicken broth and chicken breast bring to a simmer, and reduce heat to low. Depending on the size of your chicken and vegetables (the larger, the longer it will take to cook), cook covered for 30-45 minutes. If your chicken was frozen like mine going in, it will take a little longer.

After 30-45 minutes add butternut squash, cover again, and cook for 15 minutes. Then remove and shred the chicken. Put the chicken back into the pot and cook until the butternut squash is just finished (if you stick a knife in a piece it should start to break apart but not turn into mush, you want it to maintain some texture).

Serve and enjoy!

I can’t tell you how much I love this soup, and I really hope that you try it. It is so warm and hearty, but not at all heavy or unhealthy. The butternut squash adds a sweet flavor, and the parsnips add a kind of spice (you will know what I mean when you try them). So good.

*New to parsnips? They have a very unique flavor, and I highly recommend trying them out. They look like a white carrot and you can find them in the produce section next to the beets, turnips (round white and purple), and the carrots are usually nearby. 

**I can’t find my vegetable peeler (apparently it is with the can openers and the wine opener) so I just scrubbed both and I promise I couldn’t tell the difference. I call it rustic 🙂 

20 thoughts on “Recipe: Chicken Soup with Butternut Squash

  1. This totally looks like something I could pull off! I’m not a very good cook, so I’m always looking for new recipes to try out. I think this is definitely going to be put on my list! I can’t wait until gets colder around here (although it never really gets that cold in Cali) so I can make a bunch of soup and warm up! 🙂

  2. I’m so sorry you’re not feeling well! I hope you were able to get feeling better and go for a run… or at least get feeling better. If not this soup looks like just the ticket!

    I’ve never done anything with parsnips before… but I do love butternut squash and this does look amazing and so perfect for cold, rainy, fall weather. I can’t wait to try it out… it’s still 98 degrees here today, so I’ll probably have to wait a little bit.

    • OMG 98?! I would cry. Once it gets cold you have to give it a go 🙂

      And thank you, I am actually feeling better, I went for a run on my break before my hair appointment and I feel great having gotten it in!

  3. Oh you had me with the words butternut squash! This soup looks amazing! And I hope it has super healing powers for you and that you’re feeling better!

    I’ve ALWAYS wondered what parsnips are, so thank you for explaining! I will be on the lookout the next time I’m in the produce section.

  4. Pingback: Fall Into Fitness Fridays | reads recipes runs

  5. Pingback: Fall Into Fitness Fridays | reads recipes runs

  6. Pingback: 4 x 4 & the local spotlight.

  7. Pingback: Eat Clean Diet Week 3 Meal Plans

  8. Pingback: Healthy Holidays Part 3 | reads recipes runs

  9. This soup was SO DELICIOUS! My husband and I loved it. Used a rotisserie chicken to cut down on time and wow. Thanks so much for this!

Leave a Reply

