Crystal Light Pure

Good morning! I hope that you had a fabulous weekend! Mine was nice, an amazing combo of relaxing and productivity. I even met my goals that I set out of myself in my Fall Into Fitness Friday post.

About two weeks ago I received a sample of Crystal Light Pure from Kraft Foods, and I thought I would share my thoughts with you! (I hope that by now you all realize that I am honest with you no matter what, I wouldn’t lie to you and tell you I loved something just because I felt like I had to, so please trust that this is my honest opinion.)

The timing of this was such a coincidence, I had to laugh little. Because of my increased activities (I am really ramping up my half marathon training), I was looking for a post-workout hydration drink that was low in calories, had no artificial sweeteners, and had electrolytes. I’ve noticed that I am very susceptible to dehydration (I think that I may need to start bringing water with me on my runs), and if I don’t replenish right after an intense workout, I get a headache almost instantly and it all goes downhill from there.

I wasn’t happy about traditional sports drinks, it was just too many calories and the flavor is way too strong for me. The lower calorie sports drinks I was finding were all about the artificial sweeteners.

To be honest, I was somewhat hesitant about trying Crystal Light Pure, because I assumed it had artificial sweeteners, but when I read that this product is sweetened with sugar and Truvia (from stevia, which I am a huge fan of, I put it in my coffee every morning) I was willing to give it a go.  

I was sent three flavors, two with electrolytes—grape and strawberry kiwi—and the lemonade one, which doesn’t have electrolytes.

Yes, I like how it matches my cup, and yes, I usually have glasses and mugs in my car at all times.

My thoughts:

    • Super hydrating. If I down a big one of these with ice after a run, I feel better almost instantly.
    • The flavors are really nice. I wish that the lemonade had electrolytes because that was my favorite flavor, but the others were good too. I even liked the grape, and grape-flavored things are usually my least favorite.
    • I can adjust the amount of flavor easily, which is great because in general, I prefer my beverages to not be too flavored.

One way I liked to drink these was I added half a packet to sparkling water and ice (free from my work cafeteria). It was pretty amazing. Pretty much exactly like soda (disclaimer, I can’t remember the last time I had real soda, so my idea of what tastes like soda may be somewhat skewed. Haha). Can you spot my desk friend peeking out to say hi?

All in all, I liked these little packets, and I will most likely buy them in the future.

In addition to the samples, they sent me some hydration tips from Crystal Light Pure Spokesperson Molly Kimball, RD that I wanted to share with you.

  • Keep a Tally: We can’t actually tell how well we’re hydrated by how thirsty we feel. For many of us, by the time we start to feel thirsty, we’re already dehydrated, but just how much water is enough when it comes to staying hydrated? Keep a running tally of how much fluid you’re getting and aim for half of your body weight in ounces of fluid per day, plus an extra 16 ounces for every pound of sweat lost during exercise or work in the heat.  
  • Don’t Forget about Food: Staying well-hydrated is essential for maintaining optimal energy levels, preventing muscle cramping and headaches, and more serious issues like heatstroke. But that doesn’t mean you have to force down gallons of water or bottles of sugary sports drinks. Any type of alcohol-free beverage can count toward your fluid intake – and even some foods! Some of the top electrolyte-rich, hydrating foods include all types of fresh fruit, soups like gazpacho, and Greek yogurt.
  • Watch the Caffeine: For years, the widely-held belief was that caffeinated beverages were dehydrating. An abundance of research has proven otherwise, however. The amount of caffeine typically found in standard servings of tea, coffee, and soft drinks appears to have no diuretic effect, meaning that these beverages don’t cause us to lose more fluid than they provide. But remember that you don’t want the majority of your fluids to come from caffeinated drinks since most health organizations recommend we limit our caffeine intake. Instead, try to vary what you’re drinking.

What do you do to keep yourself hydrated while active? What’s your favorite way to enjoy water? Sparkling, regular, flavored?

To my runners out there, do you take water out on your runs with you? If so, when did you start? I feel like anything three miles or less, I don’t really need it on the run, but maybe I am totally wrong?

12 thoughts on “Crystal Light Pure

  1. That’s interesting that they don’t contain artificial sweeteners. I’ll have to look into those! I don’t carry water on my run, but I’m sure once you go longer than 3 miles it’s probably a good thing to have. Especially if it’s hot out! 🙂

  2. I have seen these in the store but had no idea they didn’t have artificial sweeteners! I had had the Crystal light packs in the past and found they had a weird aftertaste. Will have to give these a try since I am really trying to drink more water and flavor helps trick me 🙂

  3. I am so bad at staying hydrated. Cecily, my hero, carries a big water bottle around with her everywhere she goes and regularly takes sips… I am a part of that group who drinks once they’re thirsty and already dehydrated. (my coach used to tell us that too.)
    I just don’t always love plain water… I do like those life water things quite a bit, but I don’t usually get them unless I’m at my mom’s because I’m cheap.
    So these might just be the ticket… I’ll have to look into it. Thanks!! 🙂

    • It’s really something you have to make sure to focus on. Today for instance, I realized (at 4 p.m.) I’d only had a glass of water after my run. No wonder I had a headache!!

      If you aren’t a fan of plain water I think you’d like these a lot 🙂

  4. New follower here:) I totally agree with the hydration thing! I get sooo tired if I am lacking in the fluids department. I use the Shaklee Performance for quick hydration if I need it. It isn’t calorie free, but it doesn’t contain any artificial ingredients. Plus, I tend to have bloodsugar dips, so the glucose in Performance helps.

    I love your site! I found you on Peas and Crayons WIAW! I have yet to link up, but one of these day I will:)

    Jessie

    • Hi Jessie!

      Thanks for stopping by my blog 🙂 I love new bloggie friends! I’ve never heard of Shaklee Performance, but maybe I should. This Saturday I had ONE glass of water before my run at 5 p.m. I am not a very good example.

  5. Pingback: WIAW + How I Cook Spaghetti Squash | reads recipes runs

  6. Pingback: Half Marathon Training Starts TODAY! | reads recipes runs

Leave a Reply

