Fall Into Fitness

While for some people the decline in temperature means the end of the wonderful warm summer and gearing up for a dreary winter ahead. Me? No way! I honestly think I might have the opposite of Seasonal Affective Disorder, I get very cranky during the summer. Very cranky. I really hate being overheated (I almost put I hate being hot, but who are we kidding 😉 haha).

Fall is already on it’s way, I can feel and see the wonderful changes on their way. Just this evening my husband took me outside to show me that some of our trees are starting to turn. Amazing! Now I am pretty much classifying this as my first “real” fall. Where I grew up in California we had cooler months starting in October, but when I moved farther south, that declined considerably. Now that I am in Utah I am excited for the full experience.

So, I welcome you to my Fall Into Fitness series! I feel so invigorated by the upcoming season. Running outside, enjoying the beautiful scenery and not having to worry about going before 7 a.m. or after 8 p.m.? I’m sold! Warm yummy meals without feeling like I am going to melt in the kitchen? Heaven!

So the plan? It’s simple: Take advantage of the wonderful weather and the change of the seasons to put a little spark in my fire (which has been dwindling lately my friends, dwindling!). In reads recipes runs fashion, I’ve broken them into my three fave categories.

reads – I am excited to curl up with a great book with a cup of tea and snuggle with a blanket. I am kind of scattered with my reads right now, but I am having so much fun with my nook. I also really want to read a book about running. Any suggestions?

recipes – Most of my favorite produce is a product of fall. (Except apples, I need to do a post to introduce you all to my aversion to apples.) Sweet potatoes, mushrooms, pumpkin, butternut squash… swoon! The best part is that there are SO MANY ways to enjoy fall flavors in a light, healthy way. This is also soup season, and soup is literally my favorite! Especially broth-based soups. Expect some heart warming, but waste friendly, recipes in the following months.

runs – It’s cooling off finally and it’s amazing. I definitely want to take advantage of running outside while I can (I don’t see this happening often once it starts snowing, let’s be honest). I finally sorted out the gym membership debacle at work, so we can go get our memberships back.

Like I mentioned in my post last week, I really wanted something to bring me out of my funk, and I think that my Fall Into Fitness plan is just the way to go about it!

Want to join me? Tell me about your fall fitness plans below (they can be food related, workout related and as big or as little as you want, they also don’t need to be new either) and we can have check-ins every Friday. How’s Fall Into Fitness Fridays sound? Hows that for alliteration!?

What is your favorite season?

17 thoughts on “Fall Into Fitness

  1. I think I’m stuck with the hat. Ha. Love a good alliteration. Great idea for a blog series. SO, for books on running.. I haven’t read it yet, but someone just told me about Ultramarathon Man: 50 Marathons – 50 States – 50 Days.. I checked it out from the Library of Congress, but haven’t cracked it open just yet. Looking forward to seeing what books others suggest! So, my Fall into Fitness plan.. I’m going to add in some strength training and cut back on the running a little.. I think I’m going to do body pump Tuesdays and Thursdays, and run on Mon, Wed, and Sat… and throw in a couple days of bike/elliptical. My stomach is a mess and I’m all loosey goosey. As for food.. I’ve been pretty good but still overdoing it on the sugar front! We should also do some stuff on running music-collecting good songs for running mixes!

    • Thanks for the book suggestion 🙂 I miss having access to a good class like body pump. I am actually kind of toying with the idea of becoming an instructor if my gym would pay for me to get certified. Then I would have access to the class! Haha. I LOVE the idea of a running playlist. Lately I’ve been running to Pandora stations like Katy Perry or Lady Gaga. There’s also an app where you can pic your pace and it will play songs with a beat that is similar to your pace. So cool!

  2. That sounds like a great idea for a series! I definitely need to get my motivation up for running. I finally went for a run on Saturday, and let’s just say it wasn’t my best. I came to the realization this weekend that I NEED to be running/exercising more. Especially if I’m going to be doing a lot more sewing/knitting since it’s such a sedentary activity. My new goal is to run every other day. I’m just going to try to get out and do at least a mile, then I’ll steadily increase mileage as I get more fit. And the Friday check in thing is a great idea!! 🙂

    • I’ve been having problems getting myself out the door on the weekends too. Far too many easy excuses not to, but I read somewhere that if you take weekends off from exercising it equals something like 3 months of not exercising (52 weekends a year, two days a weekend..?) If you think of it that way it’s easier to get out at least once!

  3. You make the fall sound so nice! I am one of those californian kids that just loves the summer… and could basically be okay with it lasting all year long. We actually have clouds in the sky today and it isn’t over 90 degrees outside yet and it’s noon… so it’s starting to feel pretty fallish to me too. I think I might like it more this year… those yummy fall recipes might be the ticket… I’m excited!!!
    My fall plans include going to a nearby pumpkin farm that is supposed to be super awesome! I’m excited to go pick my own pumpkin and have a carmel apple.

  4. Ahhh…Fall! How good it feels to go for a run without feeling the need to pass out from heat exhaustion! Can’t wait to slip on my cozy hoodies in the evenings and curl up with a good book!

  5. Well, you know Kalee and I are in =) I guess my favorite seasons are Fall and Summer. Spring is still too cool and winter…I hate winter!!!!! I hate cold and no green and short days. Nope…no a winter gal, can you tell??

    You know as much as I like trying new fitness things, I’ve never, ever wanted to try running. I am not being sarcastic, I really want to know…why run? Looks like it would hurt my knees.

    I am pumped about your recipes. Will they be simple enough for me? and I wish I had time to read. I LOVE to read, but since I started teaching (11 years ago), I’ve not had much time to read =( makes me incredibility sad!!

    • I feel the same way about summer that you do about winter. I think it’s so funny that so many people have a season that they just don’t like!

      I wrote a post recently about my running relationship, but I guess I didn’t really focus on WHY I run, which is an amazing question, and I just scratched my post idea for tomorrow to write about that instead. Sorry to keep you in suspense, but I will let you know when the post is up.

      I think that they will be simple enough for you, and I am sure you are a better chef than you give yourself credit for, and the more you cook the more you will feel comfortable in the kitchen 🙂

      I know what you mean about having time to read, when I was in college I hardly had time to read what I had to read for class, let alone something I wanted to read. So I totally get it.

  6. I will be anxiously awaiting =) Because I’ve always said, “the only way I’m running, is to get away from the boogie man.” And you know I’m not scared to work out. I just don’t get it, but I’d like to understand so that maybe one day when someone says…join this whatever K they are doing, I might be interested to doing it with them =)

    • I totally get it. I managed to run as little as humanly possible until I was 18 years old, but I was always super active.

      As long as you’re active in some way, you are rocking it. There is by no means a right way to be in shape 🙂

  7. Pingback: Why I Run | reads recipes runs

  8. Pingback: Fall Into Fitness Sunday | reads recipes runs

Leave a Reply

