E-Readers

Well hello there! Good morning to you 🙂  Not so much of a good morning to me, I got about 3 or 4 hours of sleep last night. Not so great after a busy day, with a full week ahead of me.

Oddly enough I woke up wanting to run, unfortunately, I didn’t have time before work, so I am hoping that my determination doesn’t waver once I get home. I don’t have a book review for you this week, I have yet to finish a book in the past few weeks because of the move, but I thought I would do a post on e-readers.

When e-readers first gained popularity I was pretty skeptical. I am a book girl through and through. I love buying a new book and smelling it (although with library books I do not suggest this practice). I love everything about books. I learned a lot more about e-readers and e-books when I was working at a publishing company, and I started to warm up to the idea once we bought a few for research. My sister got a Kindle, and being an English teacher, I took her word for it when she gave glowing reviews.

Then I started thinking about it, and I realized that an e-reader would be a fun addition to my library. There were a few reasons why my opinion changed:

  1. Cheaper books. Sorry publishers, but I know in general it’s cheaper to manufacture an e-book and I know how the contracting agreements work (in general) and you don’t get to complain about how much you are making off of each book. It’s a changing industry, but I don’t think that books will ever be replaced. Adapt. Oh and authors, don’t complain, just be smart during contract negotiations.
  2. Lending books. I think that it’s a great idea when publishers allow book lending on their e-readers. If you buy a book you can lend it to a friend, why should that element of community be taken away while e-reading?
  3. Library books. While not yet available on the Kindle, you can get library books on a number of devices.
  4. Instant gratification. Oh, it’s 2 a.m., and I can’t sleep and I want a book to read. BAM. That’s the sound of your new book being downloaded.

When I started doing research about what I wanted I realized a few things. I wanted an e-reader dedicated to just reading. No backlit display, e-ink, and as close to an actual book as possible. Honestly, the majority of e-readers are great, and it really just depends on what you are looking for.

There is one thing that I feel is missing from the e-reader world. Book rentals. Dear Publishers, sometimes I don’t want to pay full price for a book that I don’t think I will ever read again. Here is what I think that you should do (feel free to send any compensation my way for this amazing idea, e-book buying credit would be sufficient): Have a book rental option for something like $4. Then you get the book for say, 10 days. At the end of ten days, you have the option to “return” the book (obviously the publisher keeps the $4) or you can purchase it for the remainder of the list price. So say I wanted to rent a book that costs $12. I would pay $4. Then if I loved it and wanted to keep it, at the end of 10 days I would pay $8 and the book would be mine. This way publishers are still making money, but they are making more money than if they make the book lendable.

What are your thoughts on e-readers? If you own one what do you think about it?  

9 thoughts on “E-Readers

  1. you could get an ipad which has a kindle app, kobo app, so getting books for all is easy. plus it has ibooks + other apps which come with classics & you could so much more than just read books off it.

  2. I’m a fellow book lover! I also love the smell and feel of books, but since I’ve let my students use their ereaders in class, I’ve started to become more curious. I just can’t commit to the price of an ereader, even if it’s cheaper in the long run.*

  3. I don’t have an e-reader but I am seriously considering one!! 🙂 Found you from #FitBlog tonight and looking forward to following you!

  4. My mom has a Kindle, and she absolutely LOVES it! I’m not sure how I feel about e-readers though. Probably because I don’t read enough books to really have a need for one! Haha! But I’m hoping to change that! I’m going to try reading along with Julie’s new book club (PB Fingers). Should be fun! 🙂

  5. While I will always prefer the smell, feel, and page-turning sound and satisfaction of a real book, I too have come to very much appreciate e-books. I just moved to the Caribbean with my husband so he can attend medical school, and books are a heavy thing to pack. But, I certainly can’t live without them! E-books to the rescue! Plus, it eliminates the need for a reading light at night, something I appreciate too 🙂

Leave a Reply

