What I Ate Wednesday–for Lunch

Hi friends! I hope that your Wednesday is treating you well. Apparently I am ready for today to be over because I keep thinking that it’s Thursday, in fact, when I wrote that first sentence I actually put down Thursday. But alas, it’s Wednesday, and What I Ate Wednesday at that.

I’ve been flaking on taking pics of my food, so I am going to do a reads recipes runs exclusive: What I Ate Wednesday—for Lunch.

I had a sandwhich with artichoke garlic hummus, turkey, pickles, and cheese. It was SO good! I also had a banana with peanut butter (that’s what’s in the plastic baggie) and sparkling water with lemon. It was a great satisfying lunch if I do say so myself.

Oh, and I just got a huge bag of celery and carrots. Score.

So I have a bit of a rant for you. For the first time pretty much since I started working here I’ve eaten lunch at my desk. I usually don’t eat at the usual time and frankly eating in the cafeteria makes me anxious. I feel like I need to sit with people, and sometimes I don’t really want to deal with it. I also like being able to leave 30 min earlier if I don’t take a lunch.

In efforts of being more involved in my work community, especially since I am now here 30 hours a week, I decided to start taking some lunch breaks. I mentioned it to someone I enjoy talking to, and she came and got me today before lunch.

I brought out my food, and sat on the patio with the other ladies. Chatting away, and they totally started making fun of my peanut butter in a bag! I was cheery and played along; I guess I can see how it’s weird. Then moved on. I ate my sandwich chatted, then started eating my banana and added a bit of peanut butter to each bite with a spoon. Next thing I know, one of the lady starts laughing at me. She tried to play it off like she was laughing at all of our little eating quirks, but really, we all knew she was laughing at me.

Being the professional I am, I laughed it off, made fun of myself and made light of the situation. What else could I do? But I was super offended!! I mean the peanut butter–banana combo isn’t exactly exotic. Maybe it was weird that I was putting it onto my banana with a spoon, but no matter how you slice it, it’s just rude to make fun of people for what they are eating.

This is a huge pet peeve of mine. Needless to say, I am not planning on eating with them again.

6 thoughts on “What I Ate Wednesday–for Lunch

  1. Sorry to hear they were making fun of you! I wouldn’t eat with them anymore either! I know how you feel though. At one of my previous jobs, I would pretty much eat the exact same thing every day and my coworkers would be like “Another salad…. again?!” At first I’d just kinda laugh it off, but when they would make the same comments every single day, I got really sick of it! I just started eating lunch in my car just to avoid them. People should definitely mind their own business when it comes to food! 🙂

    • Rude!! I used to eat in my car at my old job too. Mainly because I needed time away from my suffocating coworkers.

      I eat a lot of the same things for lunch too, otherwise the ingredients go bad before I have a chance to eat it all!

      Thanks for swinging by my blog 🙂

  2. How else are you supposed to put your PB on your banana? That doesn’t sound odd to me in the least. But I’ve noticed that people really like to criticize others’ eating habits quite openly–you wouldn’t judge anything else about someone that blatantly! Some people just seem to think eating habits are a free target…not so nice.

Leave a Reply

