Review: The Temperance Brennan Series

Hi there! I hope that your week is off to a great start. I hit the pavement [not so] bright and early this morning for a jog. It was perfect jogging weather, not too light, not too warm, just right.

Since Kathy Reichs’s newest book Flash and Bones in the Temperance Brennan series is coming out tomorrow, I thought I would share my review of the series as a whole. I am going to go ahead and warn you right now that I am totally in love with these books, get ready for a geeky, gushy post.

I am a huge fan of the TV show, Bones, which is loosely based on the books, so every time I watched an episode and I saw the info about the books in the beginning credits, I was like, “I need to read those!”

Last summer I finally took the plunge and began with book one, Déjà Dead. That was all it took! I literally flew through the rest of the series, sometimes reading two in one weekend. My friend went to Comic Con and got one of the newer books for me, and it only took a few short months before I got to it.

So what do I like about these books? Well, I have always been a huge mystery reader, as a kid I used to dream of becoming an FBI agent, so these books were right up my alley. The books are very different from the show, but just as amazing in their own right. Reichs does a fantastic job of injecting science, romance, mystery, and action in to each book. (Although side rant, I don’t understand how Tempe doesn’t have any permanent brain damage. She loses consciousness at least once a book…)

I love Book Tempe, dare I say even more than TV Tempe (PS when I went to Arizona for work last month, I got WAY too excited when I saw a sign for Tempe, Arizona… it’s the little things). Other than Temperance, the characters in the books don’t match with the characters in the show. There is a Booth-like character, but the others come and go through various books.  

One element that I love about the shows is how TV Tempe is an author whose main character in her books is Dr. Kathy Reichs. I also like the nods to the other characters in the books, like Agents Andrew, and Ryan who are mentioned in the episode where the Japanese reporter interviews Tempe about the books and all she asks about are the steamy parts. PS Reichs was in an episode as well. And yes, yes I did go back and watch the episodes that talk about the books after reading them 🙂

I’ve been asked a few times if the books need to be read in order. While I say yes I realize that I am a little OCD like that and I think that you can also pick one up and read from there. Reichs maintains a good balance between keeping new readers in the loop without annoying those who have read them in order, that and I always skip the paragraphs that talk about what happened in the last book…

If you are interested in reading them in order, here is the list. I kept getting confused by Spider Bones and 206 Bones but I think that’s because the copy of 206 Bones I had may have been an advanced copy and the info was wrong.

I am sure you can guess what I will be doing when I get off work tomorrow!

Have you read any of these books? Watched the show? Are there any series that you are dedicated to? When I was younger I used to read a mystery series called the Jennie McGrady series, and it was a sad, sad day when those ended. (I just read that these are out of print!! NO! Although I do feel special that I own the entire series 🙂 )

4 thoughts on “Review: The Temperance Brennan Series

  1. Pingback: Random Ramblings | reads recipes runs

  2. Pingback: Review: Kathy Reichs Virals Series | reads recipes runs

Leave a Reply

