Review: Naturally Thin

Gooooood morning! I hope you are having a good Friday so far. I had the chance to sleep in (amazing) and later today I am going to do some cleaning around the old place, laundry, and then head over to the new place and get the master bedroom finished (hopefully).

I found out yesterday that we are going to move the big stuff on Sunday afternoon, which is a HUGE relief, since that means that tomorrow we will have time to finish and clean everything before we move in the furniture… oh, and actually pack. You know how we do.

I can’t believe I haven’t posted a recipe or a reads post this week. I feel like I’ve failed you as a blogger. What have I even been talking about this week anyways? Haha. So today you get a reads post, and tomorrow you will get a recipe post 🙂

I recently finished Naturally Thin by Bethenny Frankel with Eve Adamson. I wasn’t really sure what to expect. I actually loved Bethenny’s shows on Bravo, and at my old work I edited one of Eve’s other books, so I thought I’d give it a read!

All in all I liked it! Bethenny’s main claim is that there is no such thing as “naturally thin” and that by following her 10 rules you can unveil a naturally thin you. Each chapter talks about what each rule means (thank goodness, the rules themselves are a bit ambiguous). I’m not going to go into each rule, I’m not going to give away secrets in my reviews, but I am going to highlight my two favorite and my two least favorite rules. But honestly they were all useful.

My favorites: 
Cancel your membership to the clean plate club: This one is fairly self explanatory but has been quite valuable for me.

Know thyself: I like that this one talked about following the rules in a way that works for you. For me this touched a cord because I am not the person who can just wait until I am just somewhat hungry and ready to eat. 80% of the time, that doesn’t happen. I go from fine to I am going to hurt someone I am so hungry, so knowing that doing what is best for my body is OK.

Rules I am so-so about:
Check yourself before you wreck yourself: This rule talks about emotional eating and basically says “just stop.” HA. If only it was that easy. This is a daily struggle for past bingers, and I thought it deserved a little more attention.

Taste everything, eat nothing: This rule is great in theory, but if you haven’t yet mastered the above rule, this rule is infinitely harder to handle, especially eating out or being at a party is a binge trigger for you.

What I liked about the book:
I like that this book isn’t a “diet” and that it outlines healthy habits to adopt. The book touts moderation and balance, something I really appreciate. One concept covered is balancing your meals, for example if you have a “protein” meal for breakfast, then have a “carb” meal for lunch. At first I was so confused by this concept. Meals are supposed to be balanced, right? Carbs, protein, fat all in an optimal balance for your health. Right, in concept, and if you look at what you eat, and read part two of the book where they give specific meal examples, most meals are a little more tipped in one direction or another. It definitely keeps you mindful of what you are putting into your body.

Which brings me to the second thing I really like about the book. Mindfulness is talked about constantly in this book, and I think that becoming mindful of yourself is a huge key in weight loss.

The recipes. Um, tofu salad sandwich? Changed my life. I can’t wait to try more of her recipes! They use real ingredients that most people have around the house, and aren’t too fancy or complicated. Also, I just found out the liquor store down the street started to stock skinnygirl margaritas. Win.

What I didn’t like:
Some of the rules, to me at least, seemed that they could foster disordered eating behaviors. I also didn’t like how ambiguous some of the rules were, and some of the descriptions were a bit of a stretch.

At first I didn’t like that there was a “meal plan” but then I read it, and it make things make so much more sense to me. But I didn’t like the emphasis on eating out. I know that authors can only write about what they know, and that living in New York City is a lot different that anywhere else in the country, but I wish that there was more emphasis on what more people go through. Making lunches to take to work, make ahead meals for after long days at the office.

All in all, this was a good read! I can already tell you that I am using some of the rules every day, and it’s making me feel better already.

5 thoughts on “Review: Naturally Thin

  1. I have been curious to read a review on this! I’m not into diet books, but it sounds like this is more a guideline to good eating habits. Food for thought!*

  2. I read the book a while ago and had very similar reactions to it like you. Overall I liked it, and especially the focus on moderation and balance. There wasn’t really anything new or surprising in the book, but I think there were numerous very good reminders. The “taste everything eat nothing” rule however seemed quite dangerous to me and could trigger unhealthy behavior.

  3. Pingback: Listening to Your Body | reads recipes runs

Leave a Reply

