Recipe: Healthy Hearty Chili

Hi friends! Sorry I was a little MIA the past few days, I haven’t been feeling well. I keep feeling super tired and like I am coming down with something, it’s not bueno. I have the day off so I am well rested and ready to get back at it!

Another one of my favorite go-to meals is chili, and we’re still enjoying it even though it is SO not a summer meal. My recipe has evolved over the years, and it’s now more of a method than a recipe, so feel free to update it to your own tastes. I started making this regularly when I was vegan (later vegetarian) and it’s stuck as a staple ever since.

One thing I’ve noticed lately is that a lot of our go to meals are Southwest-inspired. I think because a lot of them are already gluten free, and my husband is a big fan of those types of foods. Fear not, I have plenty of other meals to share with you from other cuisines.

Healthy Hearty Chili:
1 onion diced (I used half a red and half a yellow, whatever you have works)
2 peppers of your choice. If you want a mild chili, use bell peppers. I like to use one anaheim and one jalapeno for some extra flavor.
1-2 cups protein (ground lean meat, diced chicken, tofu, temphe, are all good choices. Alternatively you can omit, and add an extra can of beans)
2 tbsp. tomato paste or 1/2 cup tomato sauce
2 cans beans (whatever you like, we are fans of white beans)
1.5 cups broth or water (if you use water you might need extra seasonings or add some cooking time)
1 can corn (or equal amount frozen)
Seasonings: 2 tbsp. each chili powder and ground cumin, 1 tbsp. garlic powder, salt and pepper to taste
Fun add ins: leftover enchilada sauce, canned green chilies 

Spray a pot or Dutch oven with cooking spray or drizzle with oil. Dice onions and peppers and saute until soft. 

Add seasonings and tomato paste or sauce. Stir to combine. Add protein, beans, and corn. Stir to combine again. Add broth and simmer–stirring occasionally–until all of the flavors come together, about 30 minutes.

If you are using precooked meat, you can put everything in the slow cooker and cook on low until you are ready (maybe no more than 4 hours without added liquid). 

Top with avocado, sour cream, cheese, salsa, or anything else you can imagine! An easy entertaining idea is to make a bean-only and not too spicy version of this and have a bunch of mix-ins for your guests to make their bowl their own.

5 thoughts on “Recipe: Healthy Hearty Chili

  1. Can’t wait to try!! I love chili!! This sounds perfect! It’s very similar to the one I make except for the peppers. I gotta try me some of those next time!

  2. Pingback: WIAW <3 | reads recipes runs

Leave a Reply

