Review: Sookie Stackhouse/True Blood Books

Hello lovelies! I hope your having a great day. Mine has been… interesting. I woke up exhausted and craving cards like a mad woman. I later got a headache at work, took a nap, and woke up with an even worse headache. It’s one of those if I move it gets worse, so I am planning some intense relaxing this evening, lots of hydrating, and maybe a walk if I feel up for it later.

Here is a review of books 1-5 of the Sookie Stackhouse novels (the books True Blood are based on) by Charlaine Harris.

(all of the images are from the Goodreads links below)

Dead Until Dark 
Living Dead in Dallas
Club Dead
Dead to the World 

Dead as a Doornail 

I started reading the Sookie Stackhouse books after I watched seasons one and two of True Blood. I had heard good things about it, but never saw it, so I thought it would be a good Netflix pick.

I liked the show, so I thought that it would be fun to read the books, besides this way I can find out what happened faster if I read the books. 😉

For those of you who have seen the show but haven’t read the books, I think you would like it. One book = one season on the show, so there are clearly some additions and embellishments. They also do a little better job of foreshadowing on the show than in the books, but it’s easier to do a background story in a book than a TV show sometimes as it happens instead of leading up to it. That and the TV show has the blueprint of the story in the books, so they can drag things out a bit longer.

Honestly, the first book wasn’t my favorite. It was a little bit too romance-y if you catch my drift. Since I had already seen the show, I knew what was going to happen, same with the second book.

I really liked the third book! Which I think is mainly because I am not a Bill fan. At. All. But by far the fourth book was my favorite so far. I am team Eric all the way!

The fifth book was also good, I liked that the author branched out with the “format” of the previous book and had two story lines going on at once.

Honestly, these books aren’t fantastic, they aren’t going to make you think or cry or feel something meaningful. They are however, entertaining and will distract you with a good story and let’s face it, Eric is dreamy.

The books are getting better as the series goes along, and I am really looking forward to reading more of these as breaks between some of my more serious reads. A few of my friends are super huge fans, so I am excited to stick with the books and see what happens.

I appreciate that as the series goes on Sookie has evolved, she was kind of annoying in the first books and the TV show, but reading the books you kind of understand her quirks more on the show that they don’t really explain.

Some of the fashion and technological references are cracking me up: no cell phones, red tights with black shoes, it’s almost as good as the long khaki skirt in Twilight.

What I am reading now: A Place of Yes by Bethenny Frankel

Up next: Little Bee by Chris Cleave

Have you read any of these books? Are you on the vampire bandwagon? I’ve read the Twilight series, some of the Vampire Diaries, and these, but I am still a little skeptical. I heard that the new fantasy “it” creature are going to be mermaids. Should be interesting!

6 thoughts on “Review: Sookie Stackhouse/True Blood Books

  1. I’ve heard a lot of my coworkers talking about these books, but I have yet to read them. Vampires aren’t really my thing, but you never know. I didn’t think I’d like any fantasy/sci-fi books, and I was wrong about that.*

    • There pretty entertaining! Maybe I am getting used to the vampire books, but these aren’t as outrageous as some of the other ones–Vampire Diaries are NUTS for example haha. Which sci-fi/fantasy books changed your mind?

  2. I haven’t read them, but do enjoy True Blood. I think I’d like the book a lot too. I did get sucked (pardon the pun) in to the Twilight books.

    Have you heard much about the Dexter series of books? I love that show!!

    • Ha! Sucked in… awesome. I think if you like the show you will enjoy reading the books.

      Oh man, I totally forgot about that Dexter is a book series as well! I LOVE that show! We don’t have Showtime so we watch it on DVD, and we are totally hooked. I totally want to read the books now, have you read them? (PS the other day I made beet juice and it splattered on the wall and as I was wiping it off I was thinking of Dexter haha.)

Leave a Reply

