Review: The Violets of March

Oh goodness, The Violets of March by Sarah Jio has skyrocketed to my list of favorite books… of all time.

Here is what Goodreads has to say:
In her twenties, Emily Wilson was on top of the world: she had a bestselling novel, a husband plucked from the pages of GQ, and a one-way ticket to happily ever after. 

Ten years later, the tide has turned on Emily’s good fortune. So when her great-aunt Bee invites her to spend the month of March on Bainbridge Island in Washington State, Emily accepts, longing to be healed by the sea. Researching her next book, Emily discovers a red velvet diary, dated 1943, whose contents reveal startling connections to her own life. 

A mesmerizing debut with an idyllic setting and intriguing dual story line, The Violets of March announces Sarah Jio as a writer to watch.

I was so impressed by this book. At first I was worried that it was going to be a bit chick-lit-y (not like the gum) but boy was I wrong. Sarah does a phenomenal job weaving together the multiple story lines, switching back and forth from the past to the present, and beautifully brings the two together.

Her descriptions of the island truly transport you to the Pacific northwest (I SO want to take a trip up there to see some family soon) and she really captured the feeling of such an island. She did a great job of making the island seem magical, without being corny or over the top.

Gosh! I seriously can’t stop raving about this book. I called my mom and sister about 15 seconds after finishing the book—OK maybe a bit longer, I was a little choked up—
and told them to add it to the top of their list, and then I texted a bunch of my friends about it as well.

This book had a dash of everything in it, romance, tragedy, the main character finding herself, friendship, mystery, and love. I highly recommend it!

Ready for some great news? Sarah has another book coming out in December. It’s called The Bungalow.

Can’t wait!

Now go, go read this book!

What I am reading now: A Place of Yes by Bethenny Frankel

Up next: Little Bee by Chris Cleave

What are you currently reading? 

15 thoughts on “Review: The Violets of March

  1. Still working on the Paris Wife (almost done) and just starting Faithful Place. I always have 2 or 3 books going at a time. I just added Violets of March to my list of books to read 🙂 Thanks for the recommendation!

    • Yay!! I’d love to hear what you think when you read it. I can only have multiple books going at once if they are totally different, otherwise I start having mashup dreams and get confused… Haha.

  2. I’m not familiar with A Place of Yes, but I love Naturally Thin. Can’t wait to see what you have to say about it! Little Bee is also on my list for the honeymoon. We’ll have to compare notes.

    • I was planning on posting both of her book reviews at once, but I have to get them back to the library in a few days, so I need to get reading! I’m glad you have a fun book to bring on the honeymoon! It will be fun to relax with a good read 🙂

  3. Hi Elizabeth! I just found your blog via Foodbuzz and am really liking it already! I love book reviews & reading too. AND I can’t believe the author responded to your review!!! That’s so cool!!! Looking forward to following your blog. 🙂

    • Hi Julie! I’m so glad you found my blog! I just started my foodbuzz account yesterday, so I am happy to see that people are finding me already. Thanks for following my blog, I will check yours out later today 🙂

  4. I’m always looking for the next great book! I’ll have to add this to my list. I’m currently reading “Sarah’s Key” which is excellent so far. I’m curious to hear what you think of Bethenny’s book. I haven’t read it yet, but it caught my eye.*

  5. Pingback: A True RRR Weekend (and a race recap) | reads recipes runs

Leave a Reply

