Cook It Once, Eat Twice

Happy Tuesday! Is it bad that it already feels so much later in the week than that for me? I think it’s my constantly interrupted sleep. I hit the snooze button on my phone for a good hour today because last night the raccoon who has taken residence in out parking lot behind our apartment was in destruction mode. There was trash everywhere when I went to my car this morning, including the corn cobs I had thrown away earlier in the week… gross.

I am a huge fan of multitasking and utilizing my time in the best way possible. The oven is on? Is there something I can stick in there for lunch tomorrow? Or I like to make things with leftovers so that I know I will have it for another recipe later in the week.

This week I made spice-rubbed chicken drumsticks (they were organic and on sale… score!). We had them for dinner last night with spicy refried beans and hot sauce and veggies (of the frozen variety).

And it’s making an appearance in my lunch today! I brought one with some frozen peas and a sweet potato, which I just happened to have the foresight to cook up while the oven was on for the chicken. I feel so accomplished (it’s the little things, clearly).

In my post yesterday I mentioned my overnight oats for breakfast. I had the other half this morning, but I have to tell you, I don’t think that they are my friend. Two hours after eating them I keep feeling nauseas. Not fun (insert not pregnant disclaimer here). I love the idea of oats for breakfast, but they just aren’t for me I don’t think. Looks like I will have to come up with an idea for these leftover oats… 🙂

Spicy Spice Rubbed Chicken
(disclaimer, this was my idea, but my husband was the one who did the prep while I was at work 🙂 )
Add chicken to a large resalable plastic bag. To the bag add whatever spices you want. We added salt, pepper, paprika, cayenne, and hot sauce. Let sit from anywhere from an hour to overnight.

To cook, spray a baking dish with cooking spray, place chicken in dish, and cook at 400 for about 30 minutes or until chicken is cooked through.

Totally random side note: I am terrified of undercooking meat, or cooking meat in general. Terrified. I always err on the side of overcooked instead of getting food poisoning. But this leads to a lot of tough, overcooked meat. More recently I’ve been sure to pay attention to cooking times and temperatures in order to make better meat—or I have my husband cook it.

Do you try to multitask your ingredients? Is there something in the kitchen that scares you or that you avoid?

Leave a Reply

