Recipe: Lentil Taco Salad

Hooray, it’s the weekend!! The weather is beautiful here, and I am having a great weekend so far, I hope you are too 🙂

Today my husband and I walked to the library and I picked up some books I had on hold , in addition to a cookbook that caught my eye. On the way home from the walk, I was FAMISHED. I didn’t have much of a breakfast, and my hunger snuck up on me very quickly. The second half of our walk was just trying to decide on what we wanted for lunch. We decided on a taco salad with lentils, boy oh boy was it good!!

Taco salad (serves 2)
For the salad:
corn from one ear of corn 
1 cucumber, diced 
1/2 green bell pepper, diced
baby carrots, cut up (I think I used about 7?) 
1/4 cup diced red onion 
handful or two of baby spinach (I prefer the chopped veggies to outnumber the spinach)
juice from half a lime

Combine all of the vegetables in a large bowl and toss with lime juice. Then toss with half of the dressing (recipe below). Transfer salad to two bowls for serving.

For the dressing (this varies a lot on how much dressing you like on your salad):
1/4-1/2 cup salsa 

1-2 Tbsp reduced-fat sour cream 

Before I get into the lentil recipe, I want to share a little background. When I lived in California I lived SO close to a Trader Joe’s and shopped there very frequently. One of my favorite meals made from ingredients there was to take the premade lentils (from the refrigerator section), taco seasoning, crispy taco shells, and avocado. Just heat the lentils with half of the taco seasoning and serve in the taco shells topped with avocado. Oh my these were GOOD! I miss it a lot. Since I’ve been Trader Joe’s free here in Utah, I made my at home version. It’s not as simple as the original, but it is easy peasy!

For the lentils (recipe is for 4 servings, I always make extra to use in burritos or tacos or more salad):
1 cup dry lentils (I usually use French lentils)

1/2 packet taco seasoning 
3-4 cups water or broth 

Cook on low, covered, for as long as it takes to get the lentils soft and yummy. Add to salad and top with the remaining dressing.

This was a great little summer lunch, and I am sure I will be enjoying it again!

I hope that the rest of your weekend is amazing! ❤

6 thoughts on “Recipe: Lentil Taco Salad

Leave a Reply

