Recipe: Mango Salsa

Hi there! I hope that your week is going swimmingly. I just got home from work and I am D.O.N.E. for the week. Time to get some things done around the house and have some fun! AKA reading the four books I have from the library and watching some old episodes of The Office that I somehow missed.

I get so excited when summer fruits go on sale: nectarines and pluots are my favorites! Another wonderful sale score is mangos. I love making mango salsa whenever I get my hand on mangos at a good price, so I thought I’d share my recipe.

Cutting mangos can be tricky if you’ve never done it before. And because you are all just my favorite, I made a video about how I cut them! I think I learned this from watching the Food Network over the years. I’m not saying it’s the best or the only way, but it’s my way, and I thought I’d share.


Mango Salsa 

2 diced mangos 
1 diced jalapeno (seeds removed) 
1/4 cup diced red onion 
juice of 1 lime 
2 tsp. garlic powder (or a bit of fresh garlic if you prefer)
salt and pepper 
Optional: red pepper flakes, habanero pepper (be careful, these are SPICY), cilantro 

Mix all of the ingredients in a bowl. This can be made the day ahead, and it gets better as it sits in the refrigerator.

Serving suggestions: 
Shrimp/fish tacos with avocado
Shrimp/fish salad (or coleslaw)  
Black bean and coleslaw salad
Chicken and greens

Add mango salsa to any of these for an amazing sweet and spicy twist!

2 thoughts on “Recipe: Mango Salsa

Leave a Reply

