At Home Workout + The Great Fundraising Act

Oh goodness. I was working on a lovely recipe to share with you, and I accidentally burnt the bottom layer and the entire thing officially tastes gross. Ugh. And we have no more food left in the house, and the bank put a hold on our account because of the hotel room I paid for in Arizona. BAH.

Sorry, now that I have gotten that out, some workout fun for you 🙂

This morning on Gina’s lovely blog The Fitnessista (I seriously love her blog and read it every day! It’s one of the few blogs I actually read on my computer at work… I’m a rebel I know) she wrote a post about motivation, I really suggest you check it out, it’s a good one!

This afternoon rolled around and I was NOT feeling going to the gym. I just could not get myself up off the couch. I mentally went through some of the points Gina listed, and I decided to try her 10 minute rule. Just try working out for at least 10 minutes, and if after that you still aren’t feeling it, let it go.

Instead of going all the way to the gym, I decided to challenge myself at home.

For cardio:
1 minute “jump rope” (I don’t have a jump rope, and I like the lighting fixture in our living room…) 
1 minute skate jumps 
1 minute jumping jacks
1 minute squat jumps (from side to side, I am not 100% sure what these are called, but they worked the booty good!) 
1 minute jump rope

Oh good gravy I was sweaty after this!! After my warmup, I did my scheduled weights (I have a few free weights at home), core work, and then I repeated the cardio blast. Not to shabs for an at home workout!

What I would really love is a fancy treadmill (and if we are being honest, a bigger apartment or house with an extra room in which to put it) like the one at the hotel I stayed in in Arizona, it was one of these fancy Matrix treadmills.

Um, it has a TV and a fan. I am currently accepting donations 😉

Speaking of donations, PLEASE check out The Great Fundraising Act. A fundraiser for Susan, an amazing blogger who was recently diagnosed with Lymphoma and found out that her out of pocket expenses could add up to $5,000 a week. Check out the fundraiser to learn how to help, and check out Susan’s blog for more about her story—I get so emotional reading her blog posts about her diagnosis, my heart just aches for her and her family.

I hope that you check it out! Have a great night friends 🙂

5 thoughts on “At Home Workout + The Great Fundraising Act

  1. Pingback: The Great Fundraising Act | reads recipes runs

Leave a Reply

