Review: The Time-Traveling Fashionista

Hello fellow book lovers! I hope that you are having a wonderful day 🙂

I am super excited to kick off my reads reviews with my very first review!! I wanted a fun summer read, and found this book on Ems blog, and it instantly jumped to the top of my list.

From Goodreads: The Time-Traveling Fashionista by Bianca Turetsky
When Louise Lambert receives a mysterious invitation to a traveling vintage fashion sale in the mail, her normal life in suburban Connecticut is magically transformed into a time traveling adventure.

After a brief encounter with two witchy salesladies and donning an evening gown that once belonged to a beautiful silent film star, Louise suddenly finds herself onboard a luxurious cruise ship in 1912. As Alice Baxter, the silent film star, Louise enjoys her access to an extensive closet of gorgeous vintage gowns and begins to get a feel for the challenges and the glamour of life during this decadent era. Until she realizes that she’s not just on any ship—she’s on the Titanic!

Will Louise be able to save herself and change the course of history, or are she and her film star alter ego, destined to go down with a sinking ship in the most infamous sea disaster of the 20th century?

Such a great little read! It was everything I was in the mood for. Yes, it is a teen novel, but I love reading teen and young adult novels from time to time. There weren’t any crazy twists or turns, and clearly you can’t rewrite history, so in the back of your mind you know what is going to happen (it is the Titanic after all) but I think that the author did a wonderful job of transporting you to another time without being too unrealistic or distracting you from the overall storyline.

I loved Louise. She was a great character, and super relatable. I was cracking up reading the part where her mom makes her eat breakfast every morning. My mom and I had the exact same conversation almost every morning in high school.

I even got a little choked up while reading about the ship sinking, the story of the Titanic is just horribly tragic, it’s hard not to be touched when you hear a more personal take on it.

I would definitely recommend this book if you are looking for an entertaining summer read, best read while relaxing on a beach, hammock, or chaise lounge by a pool (preferably in the shade).

Reading about a girl in high school always brings me back, and when I finished this book, I was thinking a lot about Operation Beautiful, an amazing website and book created by Caitlin. I LOVE this organization. I’ve been thinking lately how to start getting notes out there, and I had the idea the other day to slip them into my library books before I return them.

I’ve found enough random bookmarks and paperclips in library books, I think that they will make it to the next reader.

What I’m reading now: Lauren Grodstein’s A Friend of the Family

Up next: Bethenny Frankel’s books Naturally Thin and A Place of Yes

What are you reading?

Leave a Reply

