My Week and NOT Failing

Hi friends! I hope that you are having a lovely Monday so far. My day is sure to be pleasantly busy and productive, but not too stressful. Hopefully my week will follow suit.

I am flying to Arizona for work tomorrow and it’s supposed to be a whopping 108° F. I am afraid that I might melt! Although if I play my cards right, I won’t have to go outside between 11 a.m. and 6 p.m. 🙂

I am excited that there is a Trader Joe’s WITHIN WALKING DISTANCE (after dark of course haha) of the hotel I am staying in. SCORE! One of the number one things I have missed since moving to Utah (besides my family and friends of course) is Trader Joe’s! I used to go there almost every week (sometimes more than that) and I really miss it. I am fairly certain that the number one reason that they aren’t here are because of Utah’s liquor laws. Don’t get me started… seriously though, I hate complaining about them because it makes me sound like an alcoholic, when in reality, I just always grew up being able to get wine from the grocery store. It’s an adjustment!

Anyways, I am honestly thinking about going to get my dinner from Trader Joes, and possibly try to smuggle nonperishable and non-liquids back with me. Would I get in trouble if I got caught with a bag—or 10—of brown rice tortillas? If I start blogging from an airport holding cell, you will know why.

I am itching to get more out of my workout routine this week. I am going to be 100% honest with you: last week the gym didn’t happen. It finally dawned on me that I was coming down with something, so I chose to take care of myself and NOT get sick instead of pushing myself to the point that I would get sick (as I so often have done before).

Never fear, my half marathon training plan allows for a few rest weeks. I am fully aware that I am not perfect. This way I set myself up for success instead of failure! I have 10 weeks left in phase 1 and I am realizing that my goal of 30 lbs isn’t going to happen, and that’s OK. I knew from the beginning that that was a lofty goal. I am down a few pounds, so I think that realistically, 20 lbs is more likely to happen. And honestly, I really am OK with that. In the past I would flip out, give up, and consider myself a failure. But one thing I am determined to focus on is that it’s not always about the small picture. It’s about the big picture. Regardless of the number on the scale, continuing to eat right, exercise often, and challenge myself physically will have numerous benefits in the long run.

Honestly I am itching to start running again, I kind of have to hold myself back! I am going to be running three days a week in phase 2, and four days a week in phase 3, so I am thinking I will start incorporating a day or two of running in the next few weeks just because I can.

What are your plans this week? Stay tuned for my first official book review!

Leave a Reply

