Homemade Nut Butter

Happy Sunday! I hope that you are all having a wonderful end to your weekend. I have a love/hate relationship with Sunday. I love the balance between getting things done and relaxing. I also love watching my shows: The Glades and In Plain Sight, although I feel like I am forgetting something. Sometimes I wish that there was a personalized TV Guide just for me, it would tell me what’s on that I want to watch! The part I don’t like is that I always have trouble sleeping on Sunday nights. I don’t know why, but it always seems to happen.

Today I cleaned out and organized our “pantry” (it’s really just a cabinet) and realized two things. One, I forgot to get some sort of nut butter at the store yesterday. And two, I had a bunch of random bags of almonds, cashews, and walnuts left over from recipes or whatnot. Solution: make homemade nut butter of course!! I was actually looking into doing this yesterday because I thought it would be fun, so I took this opportunity to go for it!

Into the food processor went:
about 1 cup raw almonds 
about 1 cup combined cashews, walnuts, and salted/roasted almonds 
sprinkle of cinnamon 
drizzle of vanilla flavored agave syrup 

Just let your food processor do the work! It takes a while, and needs to be babysat, but trust me, it turns into a recognizable nut butter soon enough.

All of the recipes I read said to just let ‘er whirl for a good 15 minutes, occasionally scrapping down the sides as needed. We have a mini food processor (small kitchen) and I have to hold down the button the whole time, so I did it in batches. I also think that my husband was going to loose his mind from the sound of the food processor, so I broke it up a bit.

The outcome? AMAZING. I can’t wait to enjoy this smothered on a banana before my workout tomorrow.

Have you ever made nut butter? Any tips or secrets to share? I hope that you enjoy the rest of your weekend! 

6 thoughts on “Homemade Nut Butter

  1. I am always too nervous to make things like hummus and nutbutters on my own. they are my FAVORITES and I fear I wouldn’t make them good enough to love and cherish when I have them each day. I hate not feeling 100% satisfied with food. Yours looks and sounds flipping amazing though!!!

    And yes – I always have trouble falling asleep Sun nights too!

    • You should try almond butter!! It was SO much easier than I thought. But I know what you mean, especially when you get the same kind after a while, if it doesn’t taste the same, it’s just not right.

      I’m glad I am not the only one with Sunday sleeping problems, I hope you got more sleep than I did 🙂

  2. Pingback: Impromptu Banana Soft Serve | reads recipes runs

  3. Pingback: Workout Gear Wish List | reads recipes runs

  4. Pingback: Are You Pushing Yourself? | reads recipes runs

  5. Pingback: Snack Attack! (easy meals part 3) | reads recipes runs

Leave a Reply

