My Journey

Hey there! I hope that you are having a fantastic day! I’ve been getting a lot done around the house. Lately I’ve been trying to be more proactive about my housework, a little here, a little there, instead of marathon cleaning days, which is normally what the Hubs and I do… I got a great head start to the week, especially since we’re expecting company, x2, and we had no clean towels.

So, jumping right into it, I am going to share a little about me 🙂

I was a dancer all throughout my life, and I was BLESSED to dance somewhere that promoted healthy bodies, not the typical “dancer’s body”. I was never a skinny mini, but I never would have called myself “fat” growing up. Although I know some of my classmates thought differently, I never really felt bad about myself.

Flash-forward to college, I started dancing at the college I attended, and I didn’t get into the major program, and I was told by a teacher it was because of my weight. It hurt. A lot. I was thinner than I had ever been, I am one of the few people I know who lost the freshman 15, actually closer to 20. I stepped away from dance for a while and the pounds packed on, but I didn’t really realize it. I had a new boyfriend (now the Hubs), I was living in an apartment with some groovy roommates, but I knew that deep down I was in denial. I didn’t know anything about nutrition or fitness, and I was depressed.

By this time I had tried what I thought was everything, the cabbage soup (my mom’s fave) diet, “diet” foods (lean cuisine, diet soda), diet pills, and even worse: severely restricted eating. These are all SO unhealthy and I know that now, but it took a kick in the pants to make me realize I needed a plan. The kick in my too-tight pants came in the form of a commercial. I was home one day watching something like the Rachel Ray Show, feeling awful and I saw a commercial for Harley Pasternack’s 5 Factor Diet. I went to the Barnes and Noble on my way to campus and bought the book. Then I sat in my car in the parking structure and read as much as I could before I had to get to class.

For the first time in months, I felt hope. I KNEW that I had the tools in my hands to take care of my body. The 5 Factor Diet is SO mislabeled as a “diet”, it’s a lifestyle, something you can follow for the rest of your life for health and fitness. In less than six months I lost 20 lbs.

This was three years ago. Since then I moved, graduated college, moved twice, got an internship, got a job, moved again, got engaged, moved AGAIN, got married, worked full time for the first time in my life, got a new AMAZING job, moved to Utah, and now that I’ve come up for air, I find myself 30 lbs. heavier.

Let me say, I am not making excuses for myself. Life happens, and it’s my fault for slacking off on my healthy and fitness, no one else’s. I know I am a stress eater, and I know I haven’t been active enough, but now I must honor this, move forward, and do the best that I can from here on out. Forgiving yourself is the first step in moving forward (I will do a full post on this soon).

Yes sometimes I cry in the parking lot, discouraged that I am not where I want to be. Sometimes I am embarrassed by what I think is a failure, or that I am not seeing the progress I think that I should be. But here is the deal, I focus on my goals. I honor where I am now. I keep positive… and I don’t stop believing, let’s get this party started! (I feel that I should introduce you to my humor, I watch a lot of 30 Rock and Modern Family… that was a Modern Family nod, btw). I also go to OperationBeautiful.com when I am feeling down, it’s always makes me feel better.

I will share from time to time my goals and struggles, I think that honestly in the blog world is so valuable, and I hope that my story can inspire someone.

What about you? Have you ever felt not at your best? What do you like to do to pick yourself up? What are some of your goals?

4 thoughts on “My Journey

  1. Pingback: Fall Into Fitness Sunday | reads recipes runs

  2. Pingback: Counting Calories | reads recipes runs

  3. Thank you for being so open and sharing your story:) I think we’ve all gone through times where we don’t feel our best. I did! I had to stop caring what other people thought. Once I did that I wasn’t as stressed with myself.
    Hugs<3
    So happy I found your blog!

Leave a Reply

