Current Food Loves

Hi there! I hope your week is going swimmingly. I feel like I haven’t gotten a good night’s sleep in at least a week, and it’s really starting to take it’s toll. I am stressed about some things coming up with work, and it’s just not working for me.

I think it’s fairly obvious that I get very into certain foods, eat them up, then don’t look at them for months at a time. It’s just how I roll. Here are some foods I am currently loving and show up a few times a week on my plate.

Chinese Walnut Chicken:

Love this recipe! I’ve adapted it from an old copy of the Woman’s Day Encyclopedia of Cookery from 1966 that my mom gave me (it was my grandma’s before that). It’s a recipe that we had ALL the time growing up, so it’s a comfort food for me. I tweaked the recipe, and I just love it! I’m actually having left overs for a snack today :)

Eggless Salad Wraps:

The tofu eggless salad made an appearance last summer as well, and it’s BACK! I like to mash up tofu with spicy mustard and wrap in a whole wheat tortilla with whatever veggies are around, and then add LOTS of pickles. It’s just not the same without the pickles! Then I add some more spicy mustard, just in case. (To go tip: wrap the wrap in foil and peel it away to make an easy and less messy on the go lunch! I think my boss appreciates it when I am not running around with food all down my shirt… oh wait… that still happens…)

Dinner Salads:

One of the main reasons we tend to eat out is that I usually don’t want to make dinner. Enter the salad. I am trying to keep the fridge stocked with yummy salad items I can throw together to make a lean and green dinner. This one had grilled chicken, beans, tomatoes and cucumber. Yum!

Chobani Yogurt

More specifically, Chobani Champions, yeah, the kids one. LOVE IT. They are 100 calories, 8 grams of protein and cheaper than the regular Chobani. Also, I used to not be able to eat any kind of yogurt without a horrible tummy ache, but for some reason, no problemos here! Win!

Quinoa Tortilla:

Holy amazing! I got this recipe from Gina’s wonderful blog The Fitnessista. (One of my all-time fave blogs! She is so inspirational and so down-to-earth, and her daughter is as cute as a button!) Yesterday I had one topped with black beans, avocado, and salsa. AMAZING.

What are some things you’re loving to eat lately?

2 thoughts on “Current Food Loves

  1. Chobani! Yay! Your eats look yumm! I’m the same way as you – I get on a kick of something, can’t stop eating it and then all of the sudden, I’m over it. :)

  2. Pingback: iHerb Shopping Spree! | reads recipes runs

Leave a Reply

